mosquitos in my ice cream

I feel like my watch is wrong. I just slept for 12 hours and completely forgot to set my alarm, but woke up 5 minutes before I had to leave at 6 anyhow. It feels like I slept until 8, and so I'm also convinced it's at least saturday, because if it really is 8 am, the streets are dead quiet for a weekday. La, la, la.

Our CFO just wandered through the office moaning "Oh NO! Cheese futures are up. Pizza is going to be more expensive!" Heehee.

I've been such a zombie for about two weeks: weird sleep (not enough, on balance), no working out, eating so much comfort food. Ice cream sammiches, mcdonalds, candy. Eck, I feel all logy from it all. I need a nap and a salad and a hug. I started taking depo-provera recently, and I think that might have something to do with it. I'm happy though, as I find it easy or at least possible to consciously throw off the grumpy feelings and the whatever. Six or seven months ago I wouldn't have been able to. God bless western medicine...

Speaking of western medicine, or rather, not, my mom is getting acupuncture to strengthen her kidneys. She says she's been feeling better, and I've talked to lots of people with an RSI who've been helped a lot by it. It bothers me, though. I've seen studies that show it to be beneficial, which I like, but then the explanations of why it work involve rebalancing your energy and other hokey concepts like that. It's almost a spiritual crisis for me. I believe in the extraordinary. I believe that the universe exists and god damn if that isn't amazing and mystical and beyond my understanding. Still, for everything within the universe I am unable to accept explanations that aren't backed by science, or at least "logical" and "rational", in whatever biased sense I perceive those as. I essentially believe in an internally consistent universe where everything can eventually be explained if we keep at it long enough.

But why do I believe that?

I'm hokey too, I guess.

=====

I have a book on weight training now. I think I've about got a routine picked out, and I'll try to stick with it for a month or more, I think. Starting today. Starting today, goddamnit.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.