Nine foobles, plus tax

Well, it looks like they might maybe resolve the transit strike soon. I hate how used to taxis I'm getting. I mean, they're not evil or anything, but they mean I can't save any money for school, at all. Wah.

I've really been feeling the loner urge this week. Need time to sit alone and prowl like a tiger and talk to my cats and not see anyone. I think it's school that's doing it. Regardless, I'm going to sign up for two courses instead of one this fall. I hope I don't go crazy.

We did some genetics problems in biology last night, and I'm reminded how much finite math flows for me. Most of biology is new and strange for me and does require a bit of study to remember, but this stuff, basically logic problems, just sorts itself out as I look at the paper. Ahh. I'm taking calculus in the fall. Again. I think my new, improved study habits will help me, but ahh, I never like the non-finite math. Drives me nuts. I hate calculators. I'll get through, I have to.

Well, it looks like I'm getting an A+ in biology. That's a good start, I'd say. I can't believe the attitudes I still have floating around from highschool - I look at marks like 92 and 94 and groan, and look for the problems I missed, and curse them.. and what? if I got 100, I'd still get the same mark, A+. You know what, neurotic little brain? A+ is not only good enough, but really damn good. Still, the only mark I accepted with no inner turmoil was my lab exam, where I got a perfect score plus the bonus question. Sigh.

I got a chemistry text out of the library to bone up before my chemistry diagnostic test in a few weeks, to decide which chemistry course I can take. It's.. interesting. Chem 12 in high school was so rushed (I skipped grades 10 and 11 and did chem 12 in about 5 months) and I barely passed it, and I hated that about it. But now, starting with the basics, it's cool. Good. Makes me feel better about choosing pharmacy. Because biology is so fascinating, and the sugar chemistry etc. we did in bio is so cool, and and, ooh, pharmacy looks right up my alley. It was kind of a random choice, born of boredom with my current career, so it's comforting to see that it isn't so random after all, that it really is going to be a good choice. I think. We'll see when I take more chem. We'll really see when (if) I get to first year pharmacy.

But for now I'm happy about things.

Working out hasn't been working out too great. Been laming on the cardio, putting off doing my weights. I did some weights on tuesday, I'm going cycling with my boy today. Maybe things'll clear themselves up.

Bye bye! Time for breakfast.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.