pas capable de tirer ma vache! un bon chocolat chaud.

I gather I'm something of a mystery case to the allergist. He just got out his requisition form and started ticking off tests. So I spent much of yesterday in the lab, with the MOST annoying lab-person ever. I hate people at Particular Chain of Labs; they're so fucking snotty. I should have gone to Other Chain Of Labs That Seems To Have Universally Friendly Staff. I'm like, watch out, there's a staple in it, you won't be able to scan my card. She starts giving me a lecture about how they HAVE to scan EVERYONE's card and blah blah blah. Right, like I'm trying to defraud you in to letting me give a urine sample for free. That's really high on my fucking agenda. And it's not like my name, address, and medical history don't come up when she types in my perfectly valid health number - she just wanted to yell at me for five minutes instead of typing in 9 whole digits, which she had to anyhow.

I ask to lie down for the blood test, because needles freak me out. She snarks and tells me to wait for twenty minutes while she makes the bed. Then, probably with great sensitivity to my FEAR of NEEDLES, gives me the play by play of every. move. she. makes. while I'm looking the other direction and breathing hard and trying not to panic. "You've got really bad veins", she mutters. She misses twice, once hitting, I don't know, a nerve or something, causing me excruciating pain. Finally she finds a vein, after reapplying the tourniquet seven count them seven times, and take a fucking age to draw the blood. Why? "I thought I'd take twice as many just in case, because it was such a problem."

oh THANK YOU, that's really great that you thought you'd leave the needle in twice as long. Because you know, if there was a problem with the first set, naturally the second set FROM THE SAME SITE AND NEEDLE won't be contaminated, right? Fucckkkkk.

It makes me really admire the people at canadian blood services. They use a much, much larger needle when I go to give blood, but they never miss, never delay, never sit there making fun of my fear of needles. (I'm not joking: she says so WHY are you afraid of needles? I just don't underSTAND, blah blah blah, needles aren't so bad. How did she choose this profession? Acckkkkk.)

Well anyway, that made my physics midterm seem like the high point of the day. Think I did okay. In the last two minutes I realized something I was allowed to assume which would have made question one take like, twenty minutes less time, but oh well. Anyhow the midterms for physics are best two of three, so I won't be hurting.

La, la, la. God, I need to see my boyfriend more. He came over for dinner, we talked for a few hours and both fell asleep. It's driving us both crazy - I'm busy ALL WEEK, and he's busy on the weekend with this school project where the weekend's the only time they can meet and argh. 5 more weeks, damnit, then we can see each other during the week and maybe stop going insane and I won't be so damn tired and ohhh...

Today I am very itchy. I want to take a bath in moiturizer. Sadly I can't do that at my desk in a black suit. Tragic. But I have free hot chocolate, things are looking up.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.