she makes me want to die... to learn the things she knows... follow where Mary goes... la la la

zombie crisis averted. kinda. I got six hours of sleep last night (I nearly got seven, but neighbourman was playing rock hits of the loud, loud 70s or some damn thing. At 11:01, when the noise bylaws kick in, I banged on the wall and he stopped.), which is a lot better than the rest of the week. And school is done until monday. Chemistry last night went an extra half an hour AUGH, but in exchange there will be no class next thursday YAY. (We're ahead of the other section. Her theory: the other section has shorter classes, so the recaps at the start of each class eats in to the learnin' time. My theory: her hypnotic yet boring voice puts us in to a daze so we ask no questions, while the day class, perhaps garnering energy from photosynthesis, ask dumb questions to provide a break in which to do their homework from other classes, a popular strategy in my physics class.) (But I digress.)

12 more days of classes. Maybe I will sing a song about it, inspired by the mural of a partridge in a pear tree on the front of my apartment building. (I haven't decided if it's supposed to be there year round, as a crazy folk-art remnant of the 70s when the place was built, or if the building manager is just too lazy to take it down, which given the 6 weeks it took him to fix my leaky tap, does not seem unlikely.)

On the firrrst day of school-almost-being-over, my true love gave to meeeee, a deferral of the next assignment's due dattttte but not the midterm. La da dee.. Wait, I have to wait until monday to sing that. On the zeroth day of school-almost-being-over, I-I need a naaaapppp.. da da dee dee la da dee dahhhh...

Right, right, keeping the day job, don't worry.

Have you read heinlein's short story (novelette? I'm shaky on the terminology here.) "the unpleasant profession of jonathan hoag" ? Because it's just so charming and I dig it.

Our phones still haven't been reset after a power outage three weeks ago. I keep looking over and seeing things like JAN 06 6:53 AM, which is depressing for a minute until I realize, hah, it's really 1:18 PM and I'm almost done for the day, not just starting.

Boss is off to maui. I'm jealous, but not really, because he'll get a big sunburn and so would I in his shoes. But anyhow, since I'm an assistant, I kind of get a vacation too, because there's only so much to assist with for a person who isn't here. There's some follow-up stuff, some paperwork, some filing, the odd client who calls, but mostly there's a lot of deferring stuff until his return. I can't actually take a nap or knit on the job, but y'know, mentally I so am anyway.

35 minutes of non-strenuous work until quittin' time! I think I'll go to the gym. I haven't been all week and god, I don't know when I could have even if I was arsed to go. Hopefully I won't actually fall asleep on the treadmill.

What Flavour Are You? I taste like Menthol.I taste like Menthol.

I am refreshingly different; some people don't appreciate that. My sharp honesty gets up some people's noses, while others really enjoy it. I am something of an acquired taste. What Flavour Are You?

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.