who's the guy from 21 jump street? not the cheat, not the cheat.

It's officially Not Really Light Out Anymore when I get up in the morning. I should get a doohickey like Boy has that turns on my light automagically in the morning. Or one of those aurora devices I've seen talked about on sites about SAD, that gradually lights up a lamp in the morning to simulate the sun rising.

Only the name "aurora device" reminds me of the chmrr's "sun device" in Star Control II and makes me think my bedroom will explode or if not explode, at least be sent hurtling toward the terrible Sa-Matra battle platform.

Starcon2 is being ported by the original authors to modern versions of windows. Whee! I think that's so super. The major reason other than laziness that I don't upgrade my computer past windows 95 is so I can boot in to dos and run starcon. I have dos 6.22 disks lying around somewhere, so maybe one day I'll just put together a crappy old computer to run dos and use it when I want to draw ansi or play old games, but uh.. see above re: laziness. That'd be pretty cool, actually. Maybe I could steal boy's old Gravis Ultrasound. Those were the coolest sound cards ever, the circuitboard was RED. Crazy communist gus. You know.

I'm such a big dumb geek.

Anyway, it's still just that strange dusky twilight type light when I get in to work, not outright light or darkness like it has been and will be respectively, and so when it's a little bit moist in the air like it is today, I can look out on my way to the photocopier and be in a tower in a sea of mist, like I'm some kind of crazy melancholy wizard. With uh.. a mad alchemical photocopierye, yeahhhh.

People are chatting about saturday's fireworks and debating whether they were better or worse than wednesday's, etc., how the choreography was. Heehee. I find it kind of funny, like trying to compare two waterfalls, because I'm secretly convinced that fireworks just kind of happen, like rainbows or the aurora, and our city has some secret deal where they know when they're about to happen. Although I've just had the fireworks totally demystified because Boy's brother got a job cleaning up the fireworks barge after the shows this year. Apparently the barges are covered in sand and have mortars dug in and all sorts of crazy explosives and tin foil and garbage bags and stuff. It all seems so gradeschool science fair, which is awesome. It's like here are the people who made papier mach� volcanoes spew out baking soda and vinegar, all grown up and allowed to play with firetrucking huge matches. Whee!

We had an ice cream party last night for a friend who was in a terrible bike accident (car-doored! grr!) and can't chew anything. Anyway, the upshot is we have like, 18 freaking litres of ice cream left. It's terrible. I could eat a litre a day for weeks and not be out. Blechhhh, oh I feel sick already.

(I know, I know, too much ice cream, poor me. And my diamond shoes are too tight, did I mention? Also my pony is colicky and my personal valet keeps showing up 5 minutes late for work.)

I am knitting a sweater. This is fun. It's for me. I have never knitted a sweater before, so I don't want to inflict it on anyone else. So far it's going good. Apparently not knitting for several years has magically made me in to a fast, smooth knitter who doesn't drop stitches or randomly change gauge. Sweet. Must be all the typing. I hope the size turns out okay. I didn't have the right size of needle (I have like 50 sets of needles inherited from my late grandmother, but they're all either HUGE or tiny wee lace needles for knitting like, frilly baby socks for little lord fauntleroy or something. Anyway, so I have all these needles and always end up using my 6mm needles for everything, because I like that size.) so I measured out how big my stitches were and adjusted the pattern accordingly. Hopefully this isn't like baking where that means your bread suddenly rises three times as tall but tastes like saltwater, or your brownies turn in to sludge sweet enough to kill a family of small birds or what. I guess the worst that can happen is I'll suddenly have a goofy sweater for my raggedy ann doll who lives in the closet.

So my friends and I are all addicted to homestar runner. It's a freaky geek litmus test, it's the new monty freaking python. Everyone is either "Uh, this is a dumb. I don't get it.", or is "Heehee" and promptly watches every animation on the site two or three times and quotes it randomly at every opportunity. It's geek crack rock or something. We know we're being severely dorky by watching these things over and over and quoting them to ourselves, but we can't stop, and saying "I'm sad that I'm flying" NEVER stops being funny.

Sigh.

I'm sad that I'm flying. I am over here! Now I am back over here!


hee, I just had to add my latest silly google search: bouillabase. that's not really that silly, I mean it's just one word (unlike "actual animated talking horse" (what?) or "dyke haircut" (whee!) or "sneezy girl" (uh oh, I'm now the number one search result for snot fetishists.)), but the word bouillabase just totally cracks me up. It reminds me of going to french summer camp when I was little, and I won a hat in a contest. The contest involved shouting out french words at one of the counsellor guys. It's hard to separate "contest" from "random whim to occupy increasingly hyperactive french immersion campers", but there you go. Anyway, I won the hat for saying "grenouille", which cracked the guy up so hard he couldn't speak for like five minutes. Maybe I touched on some weird in joke or something by accident. Anyway. Free hat. Gold and sparkly. I felt pretty cool.

snicker. bouillabase.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.