damn. okay, twenty THREE box car long.

Hah, all this time I was wrong, it's really 23 box car long. Maybe he, uh, sung it different. In my.. uh.. head.

Well anyway. I'm at the library, and I FINALLY found the words and chords, in a beat up 1965 song book. It took me a minute to figure the year because the copyright notices all have roman numerals. Heh. Anyway, I will now flagrantly ignore the copyright note and type the words here because I have a twenty dollar bill and then like 27 pennies, neither of which is any good in the photocopier. Plus now the words will be SOMEWHERE on the damn internet. I will insert the chords in annoying places to annoy you.

Marlborough Street Blues

by Ian Tyson

Well the (D) freight train come by here,
It's (G) twenty-three box car (D) long,
(D) Freight train come by here
It was (G) twenty-three box car (D) long,
Some time late last night
Should be (G) on the train and gone.

Lord, (A) Lord, Lord,
(G)I don't know one woman in this (D) town.
Oh (G) I don't know one woman in this (D) town.

There's plenty of jobs around,
But it's only cleanin' cars,
plenty of jobs around
But it's only washin' cars
Forty-two a week you roll your own
Don't make the bars.

Lord, Lord, Lord,
I don't know one woman in this town,
Oh I don't know one woman in this town.

There's a (A7) crack under the door
And the (D) snow drifts through inside,
But no (A7) letters and no money
From all the friends outside.

When you're with a girl,
Freight train don't sound so bad,
When you're with a girl
Freight train don't sound so bad,
When you're all alone
Oh the blues get low and sad.

Lord, Lord, Lord,
I don't know one woman in this town,
Oh I don't know one woman in this town.


hoo-ray!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.