bring me two pi�a coladas/one for each hand

Hee! Oh I feel snarky. I just read a bunch of orson scott card review columns on his website and a David Brin review of the star wars prequels, and I'm all fired up to stick out my tongue at everyone. Tonight I will see my favourite partner-in-snark and I hope we don't say anything we regret. That anyone lives to tell about. Meanwhile, I will post troublemakery on digs and bat my eyes if anyone asks WHAT I was thinking. Tra la!

Theodore Sturgeon. Holy crap, that man can write a short story. The only thing I'd ever seen of his before was a battered copy of Godbody in the library, which looked pretty goofy and hokey and drugged out to me. I couldn't figure out why Spider Robinson kept on about how great and what a rock star and how worthy of worthiness he was. But I just picked up randomly volume 7 out of who knows how many of his collected short works and wow, wow, wow. Boy can write. I'm reminded of the bit Ray Bradbury talks about in the introduction to one of HIS books of short stories (and you know who else can write, it's Ray Bradbury.) where he is talking about having lunch with Aldous Huxley and he says "Do you know what you are?" "No, Mr. Huxley, what am I?" "You are a poet. You are a poet." And he IS and so is ted sturgeon. Wow.

On the back of the book is praise from a half dozen famous names. "treasures from elfland" "a saucer of loneliness kept me from suiciding" "magic which does not diminish with the years." You get the impression they could have chosen ANY six science fiction authors or scientists or publishers and gotten similar quotes and you know, I think you could. He also wrote star trek scripts and instead of making me sneer it makes me want to go watch some star trek. ("live long and prosper," that was him. hee!)

anyway. wow. go read some theodore sturgeon.

Ohhh too much cheese and chocolate today.

So you kind people who wrote me may be pleased to know I slept well last night. I decided too to take a week off running to catch up. Only now that I've jinxed myself, expect a diary update at 2 am tonight.

ohhhh cheese go away. I might go running anyway, just to make the too-much-cheese-belly feeling go away.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.