I got the evil gal blues

Hallowe'en was cool. My superhero cape is super and I wore a pirate hat that was too small for me all evening.

I just had really bad food at an overpriced restaurant! Whee! I hate meals like that. It's like, what a waste of my metabolism. I'm gonna have to wait at least 8 hours before I'm hungry and can eat GOOD food, and I paid cash money for the privilege. Sigh!

I went to boy's office where he was working (working all weekend! poor kid.) and hung out for a few hours working on my chemistry lab report. It's maybe a third done now, boo! I thought it'd take an hour total but I was wrong, wrong wrong. Oh well. I'm getting 95% in the lab so far, so I'm totally motivated to keep it up. I hate doing worse than teachers expect me to; I feel like such a dork. Fear of appearing dorky to teachers actually drives a lot of my school work ethic, but whatever works, man. I think I'm getting 95% in the rest of chemistry too. I don't /feel/ like I'm understanding it all 95%, but I keep doing so well on the tests. Whatever, I'll take it!

Hallowe'en we went to see Faust, the creepy but cool black'n'white silent film, and there were guys doing live sound for it, combination of live instruments and computers. It was so awesome. The theatre has a crazy toy dispenser machine - you know those little bubbles with toys in them, like at supermarkets? - only in the bubbles are tiny pieces of art, it's an art installation. $1 for a mini masterpiece, please only one to a customer per series. They're so cute. This month the art is all modified wine corks. Mine was painted in primary colours and says NO CAPS. I could see ones with fins that looked like spaceships, little animals, a crazy looking cork-spider-bot. Last month was little tiny hand-sewn dolls and little tiny hand-bound books, but I missed getting one, doh. I am so entranced by the idea of this machine. There should be art vending machines everywhere, man.

I bought two smoke alarms today. One is for our apartment, because we discovered yesterday that the smoke detector in our apartment is NOT connected to wall current. It had been painted over, and from the looks of the inside, hasn't been connected for 20 years. Fuck, that makes me angry. So we got a battery-powered one, we'll stick it to the wall. The second one is to put in the elevator. It's illegal to smoke in the elevator, and there's a tattered sign saying no smoking in there, but everyone ignores it, including, infuriatingly, the building manager and maintenance staff. So boy had the evil idea of putting in a smoke alarm to, if not deter, at least freak out some of the smokers a few times before someone takes the alarm down. Hee hee! I love it when he's an evil genius. I"m a bit of an anti-smoking nazi by inclination, but I usually try to keep a lid on it so as not to be TOO annoying. But in this case, fuck you smokers, I can't exactly walk upwind in the elevator. So that's my evil for the day. Whee!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.