past three o'clock and a cold frosty morning! past three o'clock, ood morrow masters all!

Now it's REALLY the first week of november, but no course schedule yet. Don't they realize this makes the baby jesus cry?

I like the dirty bits of gardening. I'm too lazy and easily frustrated to have anything but the lowest maintenance garden (if that. I think my one succulent houseplant and the compost bin, which is SUPPOSED to be rotting and dying, is about my sustainable limit really.), but I really like occasionally getting drafted to help with boy's parents garden. The Farm, his mom calls it. We took in the last of the tomatoes yesterday, and picked the crazy baby kiwis, planted the primulas and mums in the back and buried them in leaves to keep warm, and planted some salal bushes. I love salal. I got to relate my many "bears drooling salal berries" anecdotes.

It was so lovely out yesterday. The Annual General Meeting at church ended very quickly (like after an hour! the last one I went to was an extroardinary general meeting where the main issue was a vote on the budget. 4. hours. of budget debate.), so I went for a walk in the chilly sunshine for a few hours. I made myself a dandelion crown to wear - walking in the sunshine along the fall streets singing nonsense songs I felt compelled to temporarily accept my nomination to the position of autumn nature fairy, though in outward appearance you might be forgiven for thinking I was going more for "spaced out hippie."

It's november. I've already bought and lost one poppy, so I'm on my backup from last year. I want another new one, though. They have black centres this year, so they look like real poppies. Apparently this is how they were like 15 years ago, and then they changed them inexplicably to having green centres. So anyway, this year they have both, but I'm guessing the green ones are just left from last year.

During the brief, brief span before I lost my poppy, I had a total creep-out moment. Boy are I are at ikea and I had just got us poppies. He has his german army top from the surplus store. I turn around after getting a hot dog and see him standing tall, staring blankly in to the distance, wearing khaki with a crewcut and with a poppy on his chest. He looked like the ghost of a great war soldier. SO CREEPY. Then he moved and asked for his cinnamon bun which I'm pretty sure ghosts don't do, so hey.

Still no course schedule. Checked again, you know, just in case. They have just posted a new link to the calendar.. maybe the schedule will come later today! I will be refreshing that stupid page eveyr ten seconds for the next week, I swear.

Ohhh time for breakfast!

ood morrow? I think that's too silly a typo to correct. Hee. How ood!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.