stealin' stealin' pretty momma don't you tell on me.

Blurgh, I hate doing unsolicited trades. I get this horrible panicked feeling in my gut even when I do it right. ("even when" hah I'm such a paranoiac. I always do them right.) Just now, calculating the total. $6000! ACK! PANIC! THAT'S SIX TIMES TOO MUCH! Wait, no, that's the right amount. I wonder if I'll feel this way filling prescriptions? Probably not. I never feel this gurgly when I get the trade instructions from boss, just when I get unsolicited trades from clients when he's away. And I mean, getting a prescription written by the patient SHOULD make a person nervous. Heh.

The diaryland banner today says "I can bend minds with my spoon!" which totally makes me happy. Reminds me of one of my favourite t-shirts, for a band called Spoonbender. The picture is of a head sending psychic vibes at a spoon to bend it. It took me like two months after I bought it to notice that it was actually a fork, not a spoon.

I'm on a spree of books with altered english. Right now I'm reading Nalo Hopkinson's Midnight Robber, where everyone speaks a kind of techno-caribbean patois. I have to consciously resist the urge to speak like that after reading a few chapters. "Hello, Reggae Securities, Yam speaking.." I just finished Gillian Rubinstein's Galax-Arena, a creepy children's book where the imprisoned child performers speak in yet another lilty patois, more spanish sounding. Next up: ender's game, a clockwork orange, and brown girl in the ring. Hee. Maybe not, I'd need me some speech path after all that.

hippo upside down ALMOST spells oddity. As it is, my hippo purse says oddiy oddiy oddiy, which I've decided is the collective name of the twenty or so scholarly looking hippos printed on it.

I want it to be like mid-december right now. Because by then school will be over, this concert will be over, boss will be back, and presumably I will have done all these things I'm supposed to do but haven't yet: case study, calling 25 people about unpaid debits in their accounts, calling a dude for an informational interview about pharmacy, asking another dude for a reference letter. All I really want to do is go back to bed and have a nice nap. Nice defined as "not falling asleep thinking about all kinds of un-sleepy things like work and school." But soon. Less than a month. It'll have to be.

Maybe I just need some coffee. Ha ha ha, remember how I didn't drink coffee at all six months ago? But man. It's not that my mornings are worse now when I don't have coffee, it's just that I've realized how much better they COULD be if I DO have some coffee. I remember letterman saying a few years back "Scientists have discovered that coffee may be addictive. In other news, no one cares."

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.