un deux trois quatre �inq six sept, violette bicyclette

There's a 3 metre tall lord of the rings ad up at the Burrard skootch station, featuring a really dreamy looking Aragorn and also Arwen and Eowyn. By dreamy looking I mean "makes me want to interrupt my commute briefly to have his children," not "looks like he's dreaming." Just to clear that one up.

I have been dreaming all weekend, possibly due to the poor quality of sleep that prevails! I slept in a horrible futon and dreampt of nuclear war and new postal standards. Last night was something about work and pharmacy.. it was more the sense that I'd been thinking, uninterrupted, about both topics all night. So not a dream, but an unusual allocation of brain resources for sleepy time. And there are other dreams I can only infer by the bits of assumed reality that didn't actually happen. Like, I remember my friend T saying that kraft barbecue sauce was my reason for existing, and I remember missing the bus at a non-existent crosswalk on 4th, and I remember calling someone up and chatting in quranic arabic, but none of these things are you know, real. Language is always a dead giveaway; I often have dreams where the only thing I remember is the sense of speaking fluently and effortlessly in another language. Usually french, since I am fluent in french - sometimes it takes me days or weeks to realize that I wasn't really speaking in french to anyone, because it's been so long that I couldn't speak without some effort now, but of course I remember what it feels like to speak effortlessly. The arabic I can pin right off the mark since I don't know any at all. I can remember my effortless french speeches, almost verbatim, but not a word of my arabic phone call.

tok tok, qui est la! Time to go sweep the porch.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.