christmas time is here

Oh boy, I got my first visit from the christmas melodrama fairy. Wah.

===

I went to see the two towers very early this morningg! It was awesome. Fellowship was better, but hey, this was still awesome. I think I'll like it more when I've seen Return of the King - they took some departures from the text, and I think probably when they're all resolved in rotk it'll seem smoover. Gollum was so great. Yay!

I heard that Ian McKellan was at a midnight premiere in Vancouver too, making a surprise appearance. Eeee! Sadly not at my theatre.

Carolling at the hospital was so cool. Very draining, like physically draining, just all the walking around while singing. It's good it was only a few hours. Lots of people smiling at us, people in the TB ward so glad to have visitors, people visiting their dying relatives happy to have a little break. Wow. Everyone is just so happy when they see Santa.

Got home, had a nap. Woke up to the phone ringing, it's my mum. We're not having christmas dinner together, because I'm going to boy's family's house ('cause they asked first.), so my family was going to have a quiet family dinner on christmas eve. Or anyway that was my impression. She invited two couples I've never met before. We had a big fight about it. Lots of low fucking blows. "I bet the (boy's family names) have people over!" and "What is your REAL problem with this?" and then some shit about dad and the reason they were separated for a while and blah! I don't want to be involved in your marital counselling, I don't want to have a big examination of our relationship for the last 22 years, I just want a quiet dinner with you and not with total strangers. Yes, boy's family has other people over - although actually I've at least MET them.. What does that have to do with us? We've never ever had someone over for a holiday dinner - never once. Of course I think it's odd, of course I think it's some passive-aggressive reaction to my not coming for christmas day - it's UNUSUAL. It feels like you invited me for lunch and oh yeah, brought along your hairdresser. I ended up crying and I said let's talk about this later and I hung up.

Bleah! I'm not happy. I don't want to go to dinner. Not because of the people - I'm sure they're nice, even though I haven't met them. Just.. blah. I wanted a quiet family dinner. We never do anything except holidays and birthdays together. Maybe if we got together more often it would seem cooler to have new people over. But we don't. We never have ever. I feel invaded and I'm not going to feel comfortable there. But if I don't go I won't see my sister and I really want to.

I feel like vomiting. I hate this. I want a hug.

=====

Well boy came home and gave me a hug and put on his Fruitfly Avenger superhero cape in order to squish fruit flies for like 30 seconds and then took it off again. Ha. I love him so much. I'm glad he'll be with me on christmas eve, no matter whether I end up with my family or not.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.