Let us pause in life's pleasures and count its many tears, while we all sup sorrow with the poor:

My boy's dad has promised to get me some swedish double-smoked bacon in a can. Bacon. In a CAN. Bahahaha.

Okay so today I feel better, as you can probably tell by the fact that I am talking about bacon as if it's yummy, not disgusting. I have been actually working for the last 3 hours. I still have more work than I can finish today, but I have made a big dent in yesterday's leftovers.

Okay! School insanity has begun! I lasted almost a whole week before thinking "Jesus christ this is too much." Thursday are the last straw of my week: yesterday I left the house at 6 am and got home at 10 pm. Whee! Today I am at work, then I am going for a walk, then I am going to class, then I am going home to study for tomorrow, then tomorrow I'm leaving early to write the PCAT, then blah di blah di blah. I think I will need to take a nap on sunday afternoon because I don't have time to make up my sleep deficit on weekend nights, and I think I need a device that can stop time so I can spend any time at all with my boyfriend some time in the next 3 months.

But I knew all this. And after today's class I will be done one week, and then there are 13 more, and then that is that.

Back at choir. Everyone was all Brooke! You're here! And the lead asked me jokingly so, you actually here, or are you here one day gone sunday, floating on the wind? Cringe. Well, not cringe - they know I have a crazy school schedule, and I know I have a crazy school schedule and we both know I am doing my best and trying to be there. I am cringing I guess because I just wish I was more able to commit myself firmly to it. Still, I don't think I'll drop choir this spring - we are singing a BEAUTIFUL piece for concert, Eileen Daley's Requiem. Oh wow. We sang one movement last night and I just about stopped in the middle to say "Wow." Best of all, the alto line is very interesting and melodic, which is somewhat atypical. It's a really odd change, both easier - melody lines are easier to remember - and harder - we're not used to them, so we are suspicious we're singing the wrong thing when we have a melody. Hee.

Okay, so there's a shape of virus that looks like a freaky spider / lunar lander. It lands on cells, pokes a hole in the cell with spikes in its butt, and injects DNA. I realize that this is kind of topologically similar to what every other virus does, but just knowing there are viruses that look like spider robots totally (A) makes my day and (B) creeps me out. I am LOVING my bio class. I forgot how undyingly COOL biology is. The first bio class was the first thing I took when I went back to school to do science, and it's what convinced me this mad scheme was a good idea. And now that two years later I'm finishing up phase one of my mad scheme, taking more biology is reminding me why it's such a brilliant plan: I am so FASCINATED by what I am learning, and in 4 or 5 years I will get to talk to people about fascinating things every day of my life AND get paid for it AND be helping them be healthier and firetruckin' eh that is so fantastic!

Speaking of being paid for things, though, back to work...

added: someone googled me with "How to make superhero cape." Unfortunately they just found me mentioning a superhero cape. If that was you, you should email me, even if you are a total stranger! Because I love telling people how to make superhero capes! I have instructions written up and everything!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.