they rest, they rest from their labours

Ooh, it's crazy how much happier and saner I feel when I don't study on the weekends. I will do some tomorrow, since like, I do have two midterms this week, but: snooooze, time to relax.

Lately I've been spending saturdays being comatose, physically weak, mentally oppressed, etc. etc. It's not very fun. This semester feels like it's ALREADY taken forever, and there's still forever left. Well, three weeks of class and five weeks total with exams left, but I have so little will to keep at it other than kind of taking it on faith that (a) it'll be so nice when it's over (the hitting yourself on the head with a hammer argument); (b) it's so, so necessary that I finish this for pharmacy.

The more I read about it and talk to nurses and doctors, the more I want to work in a hospital. By the by.

Anyway. Classes are interesting, but I have so little energy. Zoink. I was thinking of taking calculus III this summer. Because other than the stupid exam angst, I am really enjoying math, enough that I am looking forward to taking more. I really really want to take a crazy math & biology course, which requires like 3 additional courses first as prerequisites. I'm not sure when I could take them. The first year of pharmacy is 38 credits, aka, a 27% overload, no room for electives, and I have no idea about subsequent years, since I'll be in the first year of a big change in curriculum, and they haven't gotten as far as second year yet. Heh. Anyway, maybe I can squeeze some math in somewhere. I think I'll at least try to substitute "stats course that uses calculus" for "stats course that is `not for credit in faculty of science'", which is the one in the course list. What kind of silly science degree requires a course like that? It's kind of disappointing. Anyway. I am definitely going to make sure _my_ pharmacy education includes as much math as I can. If I'm going to give advice about drugs, I want to go way beyond just statistical literacy.

Where was I.. oh yeah. Calc III. So in the end I won't actually take it this summer, since like, it's 4 days a week after work, and the bus time is seriously prohibitive. I'd spend 8 hours a week going to and fro for 4 hours of class. Yuck. I've had enough of that this semester; I need some time to loll around. Mmm, lolling. 5 more weeks. We are go for loll in t minus 5.. 4.. 3.. okay, 5. 5. .5... TIME IS SO SLOW!

Oh! I just realized the PCAT was yesterday. My thoughts of retaking it are now officially moot. Relax a notch. (Because hello, dumbass, 99th percentile is not only "good enough" but "maximum achievable good." Dumbass. Double-dumbass. I can't believe I was so worried that I paid like $100 to retake it and never did. Oh well.) La la la.

I saw "shylock" today. The subject matter was fairly compelling, but the play wandered around so much, blah blah blah. It was more of an argument than a play. I didn't like it much, though I guess I respect the message.

I sent an application to a mortgage broker on friday. Whoah, we are actually going to do this! Dude. I feel vaguely paranoid now, like they're going to pull some reason we can't possibly buy an apartment out of their hat. But no no no, of course they won't. I cannot wait to have a washer and dryer, to be able to paint if I want to, and to not have to deal with a landlord for maintenance issues. Like, you'd think having an external force responsible for repairs would be nice, but NOT. I hear strata councils can be annoying, but whatever. Any kind of committee is annoying and I'm not going to escape them in life. La la la.

It's 2 am! Bed time. Not bed tim. Mmm, bed tim. I don't know any tims.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.