in which our hero talks herself out of a frenzy and apologizes to the telephone pole for kicking it. sorry!

I got a great mark on the math exam! And the average was 72%!

And apparently that's so RIDICULOUSLY high that it TOTALLY CANCELS OUT the exam where even the TEACHER said he couldn't get a perfect score, so he won't be scaling the first exam AT ALL.

Seethe.

Undecided about whether to do anything about it. On the one hand, fair treatment - either two hypothetical fair exams, or in reality land, two fair scaling schemes for the fucked up exams - would probably raise my mark by one or two letter grades. On the other hand, the effort required to convince the teacher of his unfairness, likely fail at that, bring in the department head, be sufficiently assertive that this is resolved before rather than after the end of the semester so my pharmacy admission grades reflect the true grade...? A lot of stress, anxiety and time that I don't have. I don't have. I don't have. GRRR.

Oh well. I'm getting a B. I deserve about an A-, but a B is very unlikely to hurt my chances at getting in to pharmacy, and well, the A+ in biology means I'll still be doing about an A- admission average, even including failing calc I twice way back when. Which is uh, excellent.

But I hate it. I hate this bullshit marking scheme. I will be so glad to be shut of this course.

====

On the other hand, the class average in biology is 72%, but the biology department thinks that's okeydokey instead of freakish. In an unusual move, the teacher gave us a little report about our marks to date, including our rank in the class. I'm #1. Neener neener. Fortunately I'm young and my heart and/or ego can take this roller-coaster shit.

====

I want ice cream! I think I'll go get some instead of doing my laundry. Oh, it's GREAT to be an adult.

====

No house hunting today, but saturday, man. There are two v. cool townhouses I have my eye on, they can't both be gone by saturday. I hope. Whee!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.