I am the boat, I am the sea, I sail in you, you sail in me

Down to the wire! Math final tomorrow. Study tonight, study tomorrow, write write write, then math is OVER. I have a B going in to it, I think. I was all worried about getting just a B until I did my idle GPA calculation. On my pharmacy courses, even assuming they take a low elective grade and count both of my math failures from years ago, it'll be somewhere from 3.5 to 3.6, depending on whether I get a B or a B+ or an A- or an A. And like 3.85 on just my courses since I went back to school. So er, hmm, apparently it doesn't really matter that much what the hell I get in math.

Accordingly I have transferred my paranoia to calculator failure during the exam. My calculator will be disallowed! Also, the battery will die. Just so you know. I am going to indulge my paranoia and bring my favourite calculator, my annoying work calculator, and boy's calculator, all of which have working batteries and hopefully at least one of which will be allowed. My favourite calculator is programmable and technically not allowed according to the sheet they gave us, but they've never checked before and I used it on the midterms. Still, you never know. I used it for all my financial exams too up until I got a particularly conscientious proctor who confiscated it. I don't USE the programming, but how would they know. My business calculator has various programs in it too, but hopefully if it comes to that they'll realize that amortization formulas won't help me any. I have no idea what degree of programmabilitiness boy's calculator is endowed with, but I think he bought it particularly for his grade 12 provincial because it was allowed, so hey. See how I just wrote that huge paragraph about all the calculators I might use? That's how much of a retard I am being about this exam. But it's so OVER tomorrow night. Yay.

Hee, boy's mom called me at work at 7 this morning to complain about daylight savings time, knowing I'd be a sympathetic ear. Heh. Word. It was SO hard to haul myself out of bed this morning. I think it'll start being light again in a few weeks, though, as I begin my reign as "princess of light and summer and free time except for that job thing," expected to continue until september, coming to a theatre near you.

Today we get to look over most of the papers about our house, and possibly also sort out our mortgage and stuff. We were talking about wills and title last night and I think that's the last of the major decisions to make. Everyone I tell about buying a haus asks me if we're panicking yet. Uh, no, not really. I've been assured that signing the final papers and/or handing over a certified cheque for more money than I've ever had before will induce the traditional panic, but I'm not convinced. I spend a lot of my work day getting people to sign complicated forms, and I routinely see cheques bigger than that. I think my first stock trade and the first time I had to walk across town with a cert cheque for over a million dollars have cured me of any potential money responsibility panic. The thrill is gone. This is just going to be our money. Other people's money is WAY scarier.

Last night boy was drying his wet umbrella by leaving it open on the floor. Suzie has taken to lounging underneath it looking like she's hanging out on the beach, maybe glaring at some surfers. We can't pass it without cracking up and I'm not sure boy will have the heart to take the brolly away. Hee hee. God help us if we ever have kids; the cuteness of our cats alone is enough to paralyse us in to maudlin, drooling, cooing fools.

This! Semester! Is! Almost! Over!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.