joy thou beauteous godly lightning, daughter of elysium

Oh, coffee and chocolate muffins make everything better.

So yesterday I played financial aid for several hours. I convinced an academic bureaucrat to fetch papers for me (SO sweet of them! extra work for them, saves me $25.), I lined up a reference letter (wow, that was easy. two hours after I sent an email, my awesome bio teacher emailed back saying no problem! it'll be ready tomorrow! Now I just need one more.), I did a little digging in family history. Who knew my great-grandparents met overseas in WWI? Well, now the affiliation scholarship and bursary committee will know. Most of the war bursaries are for sons and daughters of WWII vets, but there was actually one for just "descendents" of WWI vets. I guess at this point there aren't exactly any sons and daughters of them left going for an undergrad degree, heh, but they can't just throw away the endowed money. Well anyway. They're mostly long-shots, but it doesn't cost me anything to apply. Or anyway it doesn't now that the registrar person is being so kind about my transcript. The big one I have my fingers crossed for is a transfer student scholarship you have to apply for. I think I will just miss the cutoff for the auto-scholarship, but I'm hoping that everyone else is too lazy to apply for this one. I know in my previous academic life I would have been too lazy, anyway. I hear lots of scholarships go unawarded every year because no one applies. Then again, those are probably the scholarships for like, "3rd year legal students of Ukrainian descent planning a career in the dairy industry," not the phat cash entrance 'ships that anyone can apply for.

Now that I have all manner of free time, I am suffering from option paralysis. Last night I skipped choir and stayed home to eat indian food and browse the web, after considering playing flute, knitting, watching a movie, calling a friend, going for a run, etc. etc. Well, I did play guitar for a little bit. I feel vaguely guilty about having all this free time. I hope I get over it soon, because free time should be fun.

Dude, I'm buying a house. I think I'm almost more excited about going to ikea than about moving. Heh. Sigh.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.