jackknife juggernaut I am born again

Awesome: walking down the street at night. It is not raining and the huge trees lining the street are lit from below by streetlights. Yes.

Well, my grandfather has cancer now. Lung cancer. He is 70 and has chain-smoked most of his life, so uh, well that's that then. I haven't seen him in 3 years, so I feel bad for him, but in a distant sort of way. My mum is of course pretty upset by it all. I think she went out to visit this weekend, probably staying the night in a smoky room that upsets her asthma/chronic cough. Last time they went to visit my dad waited until mom left the room and then sternly told my grandparents that they were not allowed to smoke around my mom anymore.

Well, I guess once you have late-stage lung cancer there's no point in quitting. Maybe my gramma will quit, though. I'm not sure what she'll do when he dies. I get the impression she's been bored and unhappy there for years; maybe she'll snap and go move to france or something. Well, I don't know. I feel terrible about this, but I really don't want to go visit. My grandfather is a cranky, mean old man. He can be funny, and he can very occasionally be nice in a sarcastic sort of way, but even when he's in the best of health he's not very fun to be around. Well huh, if mom wants me to I'll suck it up and go visit. So far she hasn't asked.

I hope the sun sticks around. I was going to do a long run tomorrow, although at this stage long will only mean 5 miles. I was just thinking fondly about my 12 mile route, but uh, not ready yet.

It's 11:30 and boy is making dinner for me. He is GREAT. Today we helped his mom move out of her office and in to a walk-in clinic. Or well, move out, anyway, the clinic is not quite finished. While we were at the old office, a bailiff showed up. Apparently the doctor who shared the space with her (who is just out of hospital after 3 surgeries..) hadn't paid up all her rent, so the bailiff was there to stop us from moving. Uh, how illegal. Especially since the landlord hadn't mentioned any of this to boy's mom, whose rent was paid in full etc. That was really annoying. Anyway it got sorted out in the end and we kept moving out. Eight million medical records! I came home and slept for 5 hours, although not really because I'd worked very hard. I mostly put papers in boxes, pretended that the green plastic fly I found in a box of screws was a deadly west-nile-virus-carrying mosquito, unlocked and locked the van, and got pushed around on the dolly and the hand-truck by boy and his dad. Whee! Whoah, whoah, stop, the door! Smoosh! Whee! I felt a lot like me at age 7 while moving.

We will move house in a month! It's moving month, man. I think boy's brother is moving back home for a while, so we can help him move too. Also boy's dad's workplace is moving, but I don't think they need our help. They like, build cranes, they are EQUIPPED. They have a forklift and everything. It would be great to drive a forklift on the highway, man. If people honked at you you could pick up their cars. In my last apartment there was an autoparts shop I could see from my windows. Sometimes on her break one of the employees would come out in the forklift and do doughnuts and pop wheelies in the loading bay. Hee!

Today I pissed off a pissy old lady! Boy sneezed, and this lady 2 or 3 meters away muttered VERY LOUDLY "Goddamn kids should keep their germs to themselves!" We started laughing and I turned around and breathed conspicuously in her direction. She kept muttering. Don't want your germs, thanks, keep them to yourselves, fucking brats! Half a block later she was standing right behind us at the cross walk. I turned around and put on my biggest smile. "Are you SURE you want to stand so CLOSE to us?" I smiled and she glared until the light changed. Boy kept giggling. "Well, er, that was uncharacteristic of you." Yeah, I know, usually I can restrain my inner bitch even around cranky old people. Oh well.

Boy says he will start a radiohead tribute band so he can sing like Thom Yorke. His brother suggested karaoke, but he scoffed at that. I think he should revive his band idea where they sing songs about things IN YOUR BRAIN, like WORMS IN YOUR BRAIN and SCREWDRIVER IN YOUR BRAIN etc., and just do radiohead covers on the side, but I was also scoffed at. Alas!

Mmm, dinner sounds yummy. Smells. I mean.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.