when you were here before la la la la la

Well! Long confusing story short, I will get to leave at 11:30 starting tomorrow and be broker than expected but happy about it. I will also get to go to an "awkward family/money issues" summit with my parents sometime soon, and this afternoon I will attend the awkward "So I'm mostly quitting, by the way" conversation with my sort-of supervisor at mum's company, while I work overtime to get everything off my plate before I leave. la la la! I feel kind of fainty today, but I'm so pleased that the rest of the summer will be Work Lite, Now With 20% Fewer Hours! that I don't mind so much.

Tonight boy and I are going to talk to the chaplain about what to do for a ceremony. I'm hoping she has some ideas. So far we've whittled away all the items that boy or I or both don't want to do. So no readings, no vows other than taking each other to be the other's lawfully wedded etc., extremely brief ring exchange. Maybe a candle and a smooch. This will take 5 minutes in its present form. Although really, how long are wedding ceremonies normally, like 20? Well, not that anyone there will care if it's short. To our relief the ceremony is just going to be parents, siblings, and then my grandma and my aunt who is driving my grandma in to town. My grandfather's chemo has been delayed slightly such that my wedding date is during the period where his immune system is too weak to be around other people. I'm not sure whether to regard this as sad because he'll miss it, or as a convenient excuse not to be miffed that he didn't show up anyway, or as a convenient excuse not to have mixed feelings about inviting him. Whatever, it's there and that's all there is to it. Boy's grandparents are not well enough to travel around these days. Anyway. We'll take pictures and mail them some.

Aha, pictures! I expect taking pictures will extend the ceremony some, especially since it will totally be boy's dad taking the pictures, and he likes to take 2 or 3 pictures of everything.

I just realized it's less than a month until pharmacy interviews. Whoah! This moving and getting married business has been an EXCELLENT distraction: I totally forgot to freak out about when / whether an interview offer will be extended to me. Which freaking out I will commence immediately. And: 75 calendar days until I'm back in school full time. Yee to the haw.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.