REAGAN: WOMEN ARE AMERICA'S LITTLE DUMPLINGS

I just moved!

Well, no, but it feels like it. We just rearranged the furniture and it's now very different and also there are a lot of displaced doodads. And we had take-out chinese food. Moving, you know.

Also: I have shelves in my room, a printer that's FINALLY hooked up in such a way that I can print to it, and a lantern hanging from the ceiling. I feel terribly well, installed. I always snicker at the name "installation ceremony" for new ministers, but I can see how a person would like to feel installed.

I am sick! Still. But not very. I have stopped being a public health nuissance: I am well enough to go to work, handle food, etc. I am sickly enough that lifting things heavier than a book leaves me winded, though. Or being underwater: instant winding. On saturday I went swimming for the first time in years. (At the second of two picnics that day. God bless summer.) It was fun, but (a) I SO need swimming lessons and (b) getting out of the water felt like going from jupiter to mars. Oh, my poor little lungs, get better soon. Because you're really annoying.

I'm not sure if I will actually TAKE swimming lessons. I may just dog paddle my way through the 250m in the triathlon and leave it at that. I'll have to think about it when I'm well enough to swim for real.

I feel like a dumpling just now, rather round and inflated. Maybe it's just my congestion, like how children with encephalitis draw people with huge heads and hands. I think I will lift weights tomorrow even if it does make me huff and puff.

I have figured out I think how my schedule will be in pharmacy. I think they will have to make some changes to the posted schedule, though, like how only 2 out of 6 of the standard timetables make it even POSSIBLE to take all the other required courses, unless there are really a lot of 1st year pharmers who will have taken organic chemistry before. Heck, maybe there are. But anyway. First course at 8 or 9, last course ends at 5 or earlier. Yay! For one term there's even a short thursday to take walks in, maybe. 26 or 27 hours of class time a week. This seems like a lot - standard is what, 15? 20 with labs? But when I compare, hmm... 26 hours of class + 26 hours of study + say 10 hours of bussing = 62 hours, 67 hours with lengthy lunch breaks. When I compare that with the 70 or 80 hour days of school/work madness, it seems pretty fine. So much of that class time is lab, too, so I may not have to study so many hours a week. An hour of study per lecture hour is about right, but there's really not enough work from an hour of lab or tutorial to make an hour's study even if you're really keen. (practice lighting the bunsen burner with phantom motions at home! draw your own graph paper! press your lab coat! colour code your lab report with different inks! write a lengthy analysis of TA's handwriting! of course not.)

Anyway. All starting at a nice late hour (compared to getting up at 5 for work at 6:30, ew.), and I get home for dinner every night, and I don't have to change in and out of a suit or anything. I will be doing interesting things all day long! I can't wait.

I also can't wait for them to email me about an interview. Should be sometime this coming week, please please soon. Interviews are in 2 weeks. (fidget fidget)

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.