pretend there is an easy way to express the opening bass line for No Surprises, played a bit too cheerfully, in words

Yay! Chem midterm over. And I didn't fail or anything, it was a nice normal test, totally not lame. I learned some new words during the test ("anti-aromatic! Hmm."), since I haven't been to class since mid-september, but that's what you get.

I have a big tendency to anthropomorphize chemical reactions when I've been studying for more than a few hours on end. I had forgotten, since the last time I really spent time studying chem for hours was in 2001 for biology class, when I started likening parts of the krebs cycle to a visiting mother-in-law in a hawaiian shirt. Anyway today enantiomers were classmates with warts, BHs is a spaz and gets all shirty with hydrocarbons, acid base reactions are a dating game, and various aspects of stereochemistry were an elaborate analogy involving pancakes. I was explaining something to a classmate using the pancakes and he said he was getting hungry up until I mentioned the part about people with warts on their face.

I was feeling all guilty about how I haven't called my parents in weeks, but it turns out they've been out of the country for 10 days. So. Out. Of the loop. I am having them over this weekend to make sure they haven't turned in to aliens or anything. I got so used to seeing dad every day at work and now I see him like once a month. I feel like I was just rescued from a desert island every time I see my folks these days. "Oh! Parents! It's been ten years! How are you!"

breana - 2003-10-24 11:39:03
No! I will NOT form a ring, thank you very much. I'm anti-aromatic!!!
-------------------------------
curltwirler - 2003-10-24 13:58:46
The same thing used to happen to me back in the days of biochem class. You study for long enough and these reactions start taking on lives of their own. It's very hard to explain to non-chemistry nerds.
-------------------------------
add a comment
crochet sashay

Hee, the onion. Beware the yams.

catnipqueen - 2003-10-25 11:56:19
Please don't rise up against us...I beg you!
-------------------------------
add a comment
patiently ignoring the chemis tree

Sick of school! Although someone pointed out that I'm now 1/16 done pharmacy school. Har, so I am.

Well, not sick of school, school is mostly awesome, just sick of the percentage of time I spend fretting about it, procrastinating, or sitting in classes I don't want to take. #3 will be resolved next year, I hope. For this year it will get me a lot of knitting done. My sweater is so close to done. I will have to start bringing my blanket to class to crochet. That will be a pain to bring on the bus, but totally worth it for the amount it will increase the chances of a confrontation with my biology teacher. Today we had another song. Oh biology teacher, we don't want to hear you sing 8 verses of a bad parody of a pop song. We started clapping after verse 1 in the hopes you would stop.

Chemistry midterm tomorrow night, and then that is it for midterms. Other than one more stats midterm, but pffft.

Ahh, maybe in december my diary will be more interesting than "OMG there's a midterm" followed by "I got an A but OMG it's not SHINY enough."

So far today my whining got a friend to drive to my house and take me to get ice cream. Positive reinforcement! I may triple my whining output if this keeps up.

add a comment
it's backwards day!

Here is a strange joke: the anatomy midterm I thought I aced I got 81% on, but the biology exam which I thought I may even have failed because the questions were so bizarre I got 94% on. 94! What the fuck? Oh well, yay for a ridiculous aspect of biology that isn't /negative/.

I had a pharmacy midterm this morning which went well I think. I was a bit groggy. 3 hours of sleep and feeling a bit surreal after eating a pancake shaped like a molar. (The faculty of dentistry was having a pancake breakfast for united way. hee.)

Time for lunch before it turns fainty o'clock...

add a comment
Alas!

It's so reassuring somehow to hear a 50-something man say "my dad." Aw. 50-something men have daddies too.

Today dr. anatomy was being silly. Or rather, today the silliest dr. anatomy out of the cadre of dr. anatomies who team-teach our anatomy class was teaching. He has a bizarre way of speaking which effectively conveys the material but leaves everyone snickering at him. Anyway. He listed among the major functions of the heart "The heart is the organ of loooooove" and started talking about valentine's day at length before eventually moving on to some histological sections of myocardial tissue. Later he suggested we hold hands and sing a song, but not in class, to better understand how gap junctions work. Er. Yay!

Poor boy has temporarily lost his man-purse, and with it his keys and bus pass and wallet. Or, if we call it his man-sack, which I do but get glared at for, he has been uh.. pursalogically castrated. Fortunately it's not really all that lost and the person who has it will deliver it tonight. I will try very hard not to mention the word decastration at all during this exchange, since I feel my physical safety may be placed in jeopardy if I do, or at the very least I will be challenged to fisticuffs at ten paces. However that would work.

In two hours I am going to an interview to prove that I speak english well enough to be a pharmacist. I am so, so tempted to adopt a fake accent, possibly highland scots klingon, and barely pass, but no, it's probably a BAD idea to fool around with the college of pharmacists.

Thanks to stupid firetrucking biology class, I am almost finished my forever-sweater that is almost two years old. I think tonight I can finish it off, or at least get started on the collar, the very last part. Today in class I didn't learn any biology, since the teacher took 50 minutes to badly explain about 2 sentences from the notes, but I did knit 13 rows and learn about what concerts my neighbours went to on the weekend (one had gotten her arms autographed by her favourite band!).

Ahh, I love academic computing labs. Other than my extremely academic diaryland entry writing, from here I can see a boy reading about Fantasy Football, a girl looking up books on bartending, and another girl writing an email with very bad grammar congratulating someone on joining the honour society she is in. And someone looking intently at a printed out picture of a crab. Hee. I want to be in that class. This weekend boy has been playing impossible creatures and he got to the level where there are lobsters. He made a flying lobster for me, I was SO pleased. Now if only he'd get to the squid level. Although sadly you cannot combine more than two animals at a time, so I will never see what a flying-squid-molerat looks like. Alas!

Alleycat is the best game ever because it says Alas!. I'm just saying.

alleycatfanatic - 2003-11-05 14:09:30
GLUB! GLUB! GLUB! GLUB!
-------------------------------
add a comment
the door is always open in my house

Ooh, what a good chem review. That was an excellent substitution for going to class. And I found out where the midterm is, thanks to the marvels of the interweb machine, so all is good in chemistry land for now.

I am sick of midterms! School feels so heavy, or maybe it's winter. I don't want to do anything and I can't get to sleep and ugh! It's clearly the time of year to eat a big meal of pine needles, curl up and fall asleep until spring, but I guess I will refrain.

Girl guide cookies: yum vs. yum, steel cage match. The winner: yum.

On saturday I went to a crazy awesome cd release concert by an old man at my church who is a piano ninja. The cd is so tasty. After listening to it I bought another for christmas presents.

Saturday night I had friends over until almost 3am, which I have not done in a long time. It's winter, compressing me like a spring. Dark at 6! I am compelled to keep the lights on until all hours!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.