great big nap! emphasis on the "gr"!

I had such a bad caller yesterday. A collections agency lady. Maybe that says it all.

What a horrible job that must be: yell at people all day, try to make them submit to your will. Christ on toast. I hung up on her once (to prevent like, HEARING damage she was yelling so much). She called back and demanded to speak to the president about how rude I was. How rude *I* was? Her parting comment was something to the effect of "I hope you enjoy being unemployed." Ha. Yeah, my company finds it really cost-effective to fire people who hang up on abusive callers.

The funny thing is that my boss has already paid the bill. In fact, the only reason the bill was overdue was that the company screwed up the visa transaction - they held on to the number for like 6 months, and then when they did charge it, the card had expired. Well duh, it was like, 6 months later. But anyway, he sent a cheque yesterday after checking to make sure the company wasn't just trying to charge him twice. Apparently this hadn't filtered down to this evil woman. She wanted me to pull my boss out of lunch with his wife or she would send a court order. Yeah, good luck with that 10 minute express court. They'll definitely come through with that before my boss comes back in an hour, because a bill from a year ago definitely needs to be settled in the next 3 minutes..

"You have no place screening his calls! You don't know how important this is! I'll have you fired!" Okay, actually screening calls is my /job/, just for reference? That's what secretarial staff do? Hello?

Sigh. Normally I just laugh. I think it was the veiled accusation or incest and/or my complete incompetence that made me really mad. Yes, I have the same last name as my boss. I work here because I'm damned good at my job, not because I'm his retarded unemployable daughter, thank you very much.




How unprofessional. I could spit.




I am very sleepy. I did my last lab last night! I have just one more short lab session, the skills test, next week, and then no more evil thursdays. I was really worried about the skills test until last night when I discovered the great secret of lighting a bunsen burner: forget being cautious with the gas. It will light with a big WHOOMP, but it won't set you on fire, ok? Before it was taking me 10 minutes or more to get the stupid thing lit. I thought I wasn't making the sparker spark, but no, it just needed a huge frickin' spark with the homeopathic amount of gas I was trying to light. So: yay for fire. Just call me prometheus. (and I will say "huh? what?")

I run my race on sunday. I need a big nap between now and then. But I'll have one, and then it will be so great and it might rain and I don't care.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.