In which our protagonist, having had perhaps too much coffee, goes in to way too much detail about the minutiae of her day yesterday.

Oh man, math teacher was in fine form. Talking about our homework assignment he says it's shorter than the last one, so we'll have no problem with doing it by monday as long as we don't get caught up watching the bachelorette. "Or what's the other one.. The idol! American Idol!" He stops to talk about reality TV for a few minutes. Later, every time he makes a mistake writing something on the board he mutters "Ooh! Can't stop thinking about that idol!" It's like he's Indiana Jones or something. Anyway, he totally had enough coffee because he was like bouncing off the walls. Or maybe the proofs just really excited him. I suspect he has a pure math background, because I have definitely seen pure math majors get this excited about proofs before. My first boyfriend was a math major and I think he was more turned on by set theory than by me. Heh. Anyway. Math teacher. Later he showed us two versions of the same proof, saying "so you can get two tastes of the same.. flavour. Like ice cream. Or uh.. maybe they'd be different flavours, I'll have to think about that one." The first proof, which was really convoluted, was "like, when your friends, or you CALL them your friends, make you say "stupid" 300 times and then ask you what's your name and you say stupid. Or stupid is a bad example. Your friends would really make you say something much worse. That's like this proof." Bahahahahhahahaha. Finally, we were looking at telescopic sums. Trying to describe what telescopic action is he says "Now, if you've seen pirate movies, they'll like whip something out of their pocket that's only this long, and then WHOOSH! They make it this big!" Oh man. I need to see me some pirate movies where that happens, baby.

So: am I learning how to solve calculus problems? Not really, although the proofs are actually quite interesting to me. Am I getting my money's worth? Ohhhh yes. Hee hee hee.

My first bio lab was last night. What a chaotic mess! The class is full, 36 people, that doesn't help, I guess. The lab room was a disaster when I left, it was really odd after all the chem labs I've done, where everything MUST be immaculate or the lab instructor goes NUTS, and as it should be. Biology is a lot messier and more inexact I guess, although I'm sure the instructor would have preferred if more of my classmates had put away their microscopes and washed their slides and not left broken cover slips on the tables. I had already stayed an extra half hour trying to finish the lab and wasn't in the mood to clean up other people's broken glass, however.

There was so much stuff to look at and do, and lots of the questions in the lab manual were really unclear. I didn't end up making all the slides we were supposed to, and I still have about 20 questions to do out of the textbook, but I guess I saw the main stuff. Whoah, I so need to review the parts of the microscopes from two years ago. This weekend I'll finish up this lab and do all the textbook questions in advance for the next one, maybe that'll help me get my groove on. I do know that no one else in the class was doing much better, heh. I think it was this way in my last bio class too - I felt really uncertain about so much stuff, and then the lab exam was on the simplest, clearest stuff and I did really well. So we'll see.

The actual material was really cool. Check it out, bacteria! Whee! I wish we had higher magnification/resolution microscopes in the lab, because the pictures of the bacteria are really fascinating. I bet I'll get to see some of that in pharmacy next year, though, assuming microbiology is still part of the curriculum. Next week is fungi and plants, whose cells are more amenable to being seen through a microscope.

I got a new purse yesterday! It's actually a camera bag. After ANOTHER strap on my old purse broke (so it's not just a clutch, it's a "clutch-and-try-to-keep-wallet-from-escaping" purse), I desperately combed through several bag stores on my way to the bus. There was nothing that I could wear diagonally over my shoulder unless it was (a) Huge (b) leather and 8 million dollars, (c) non-leather but some dumbass designer and thus 8 million dollars, or (d) huge, leather, designer, and 8 million dollars. Finally I ended up in a drugstore, and after ascertaining that they had NO purses, I was running to the bus stop but saw that camera bags were on sale. And ding! The one that was the cheapest exactly fits my palm, wallet, bus pass, lip balm, and one pen. Yay! Cheap, waterproof, and clutter-proof, since seriously if I try to put even one more pen in there it'll explode. And it looks a little better with my business suit than the hippos did, even I must admit.

Tra la.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.