then you'll be with totoro totoro

I am feeling all clingy and homebody-ey this week, and it's really annoying how I have school every night and can't just hang around the house and visit my family and my friends during the week. Monday I didn't see boy once all day and today will probably be the same, though yesterday I spent several hours haunting his footsteps around the house.

School. School is in week four of 14. 10.5 to go, man. Biology is still really cool, and math is getting more interesting. Well, math class was always interesting because my instructor is a total maniac, but now the actual math we are covered is interesting to me, in a "whee! I like this kind of problem, I feel all clever." way that it's been years since I've felt. At one time there was no question in my mind that I would be a math major. It's pretty nice to rediscover that feeling because feeling clever is much nicer than feeling lost, bored, futile, stupid, or slow. Biology lab last night was fun. I managed to get all the textbook stuff done before the lab, albeit partly by doing it in math class, and so I managed to finish the lab with half an hour to spare. Or 15 counting the discussion I got in to with the demonstrator about fruit, but in my little mental time tracker I filed that under "satisfying curiousity" rather than "obtaining exam-related facts". The way the lab exhibits all have little sticky notes pointing out what is and is not examinable kind of weighs most of lab to that latter category. I read a lot of the stuff that is not examinable just to be contrary, I think, not because I actually want to know obscure names for the flagellated zoospores of chytrids. (when I start a band, we will be the flagellated zoospores of chytrids, by the way.)

anyway. school is very fun. I'm just annoyed that it doesn't take place in a magical time-stopped part of the universe where it doesn't reduce my free time or interfere with my social life or generate the need for rest. this is pretty typical of me: "_I_ am right, the UNIVERSE is totally WRONG." But the world needs princesses, so it is my solemn and reluctant duty to think such things. Insert long-suffering sigh here.

I just ate rather too many salty cookies, if you were wondering. Also: the package my oatmeal comes in has a picture that looks like a mortar and pestle with some deadly sublimating powder in it. (which one is the mortar and which the pestle? I can never keep it straight.) Probably this means I have been reading my pharmacy text too long, since it is ACTUALLY a picture of a nice piping hot bowl of oatmeal with a spoon in it.

Now it is time to either do some work or eat my yogurt. Oh, oh, the suspense.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.