in enterprise of martial kind tarruntara

Ooh, I'm all angry! Someone in our back office called me all mad like I was trying to defraud them. Uh, no. I have better things to do with my time than set up extremely lucrative schemes involving giving you the account number for a savings account instead of a chequing account at the same bank for the same client. Did I say extremely lucrative? Because "pointless clerical error with no particular consequences" is more like it. Bleah, whatever. I polited her until she hung up. At school I had my biology midterm, which went well. I'm all mad about it too, though, because I had to stay an extra 20 minutes to argue with the teacher. There was a question with two technically correct answers, even after I asked him to clarify. After this morning I was feeling like a shit-disturber, so I picked the less obviously correct one and went to his office to annoyingly point it out. We argued for a while and I think he's going to accept both answers now, although even if he doesn't, it's totally worth the one mark for the brief entertainment of challenging someone and being right. How bitchy of me. I was totally wrong about lampreys and cyclosporine. I think I got the other 30 or 35 right. Yay.

I have drawn up a little schedule wherein I account for all 168 hours in the week. The number of "free!" hours is depressingly small, but at least now that I've set aside particular hours for studying I can sleep and read without feeling guilty like I should be studying. Except maybe right now, because my math assignment is due tomorrow and I can't retroactively do it last weekend. Heh. But starting now, I will get on average 8 hours of sleep! I have labelled it: Magical & Theoretical Schedule, Spring Semester 2003. Hypothetical would have been better, really. 15 free time hours, plus church, choir, sunday dinner, and a walk. That's not bad I guess, although at the same time it's totally insane. The rest of the time I eat, sleep, work, take the bus, study, attend class, or get ready for work. I think maybe this qualifies as "stupidly busy," or judging from my mood, at least "busy enough to promote infection with the CRANKY virus."

I think I may have passed the cranky virus on. Boy's dad is now a sleepy zombie like I was on the weekend. Poor thing!

I have different labels for sleep on my chart. During the week, sleep is where I'm a viking. On the weekend, sleep is where photosynthesis occurs. By the way.

I think I will do my assignment while I wait for the doctor tomorrow. That's usually good for an hour, or if not, I'll get to school early.

Here! Some postcards from mathclass. Today the whole class, a lecture on approximating complex integrals, was a relationship metaphor.

"This problem, believe it or not, is closely related to the problem of finding a boyfriend or girlfriend. What do you do to find a boyfriend or girlfriend?"

(student:) "Uh.. try one?"

"No, no, no! Okay well some people do. But they're crazy. Anyway. You make a list! You make a list of everything you want. Like, for me: Tall. Taller than me. That's not hard. Uh.. blonde."

(student:) "Latina!"

"Yeah.. a blonde latina. Riiiight. Anyway. Then you go around seeing who has all the fifty things on your list and you throw everyone out because no one matches! Then you stay home and do math all day and no likes you. No, no, no. Then you have to cross some things out! You can't get what you want, but you can get a good approximation. Maybe."

(student:) "So, did that work for you?"

"No. I just wanted someone to like me. Ha ha actually I had no say in what happened to me. So uh, don't actually do this list thing, it's a bad idea."

(lecture on approximation.)

"Hey uh so those lists, guys, just keep in mind, that while YOU'RE finding someone who fits your part-list, THEY'VE already compromised too when they get to you! I'm just saying. Not to imply that you're.. Oh nevermind."

Hee. Last week math was a little bit country and a little bit rock and roll, we discovered that integration is mainly useful on desert islands when your laptop gets salt water in the battery, that the integrals in the table of integration were figured by bored people before television "with goose feathers. man those guys like chased down geese in their spare time. when they weren't like, integrating to impress the ladies." And remember, "do your homework in the commercials of the idol show. Ohh man. That idol."

Okay, now it's a bit later than my scheduled bedtime, and I've decided to do math tomorrow at the doctor's, but I am all ready for tomorrow and this is totally way earlier than I've been to bed any day in the last month. Yay me! Time to be a viking.

edited to add: DUDE! breana totally found me the rainbow brite song at rainbowbrite.net. yay!

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.