la la la

It was snowing today! The weather is so weird. Last night was perfect when I got out of school. The sun had set about 20 minutes before, so the sky was this amazing deep shade of turquoise. Scattered clouds, a visible crescent moon. Wind blowing your hair in your face but not so cold your bones hurt. Handful of fat drops of rain - like once every ten or twenty seconds you feel a fat drop of rain hit your face or your hair, but you're not getting particularly wet. Evergreens silhouetted against the sky, streetlights catching the ducks flying off to their nests for the night. Students stone silent at the bus stop, watching the wind blow newspapers along. Perfect.

Today I am cranky. Someone told me to fuck off and told me I don't care as much as he does about blah blah blah that is so important to me, and I am not taking it well. Also: my math studying isn't magically doing itself today, although I think I can still get all caught up by sunday. I get to go to the city aquarium for free tomorrow morning for biology lab, which also means that next tuesday I can eat dinner at home. Yay.

I want to go home and do math problems for a few hours and then take a nap. I was reading in the paper about how a school district in the interior switched to a four day week for budget reasons, and grades and scores shot up and truancy is way down. Huh! I want a four day work week, man. We must follow France on this one, I'm telling you.

Well, whatever. 5 more weeks. 43 instructional hours plus 4 hours of exams. so and plus probably another 50 hours of studying. Tetch over two work weeks to cram in with my next five normal work weeks. Anyway. 5 more weeks, that's my point, then I will have so goddamn much free time, a whole summer. Whenever the semester ends it's like I'm floating, almost weightless, like I have to hold on to work so I don't get blown off in to outer space. 5 weeks. And 180 days in this job left. Everything is getting so close. I'm like a wind-up toy, I'm totally cranked but I have to wait six months to be set loose. Only, uh, hopefully my academic career will last longer than thirty seconds and also hopefully my legs aren't made of plastic and also hopefully I am not secretly a giant pair of chattering teeth. Or like, a monkey. Two years ago for christmas boy got a wind-up monkey that moves around sideways on its knuckles like it's some kind of crazy monkey-crab.

Um, the overextended metaphor police are at the door, bye.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.