It's an umbrella that can extinguish fires and is different every time you use it.

Rain! I don't hold with that. Well, this is the first rainy day in like two weeks. Looks like it'll be a long hot summer. (Uh oh, veda hille stuck in my head. Lonnnnnnng hot summmmmmmmR, twang twang twang) Good, increased chance of not raining for our picnic. Then again the flood years ago was in a hot summer too, so hrmm.

I started packing last night. Uh oh. I'm going to need a lot more boxes. I used two thirds of the boxes we had just on MY books.

Sometimes I think my calling in life is to debunk diet myths. I used to hang around the old chickclick/razzberry boards doing that, being the voice of science for 13 year old girls. Which just unexpectedly came in handy: I explained to our CFO why drinking lots of ice water won't actually help him lose weight. Drinking very cold things does burns calories, but REAL calories, not the KILOcalories we call calories when we talk about food. So to drink enough ice water to burn the number of calories in one carrot slice you'd basically have to give yourself frostbite. Anyway. That's a pretty common one, surprisingly. I remember reading messages from anorexic girls who would drink ice water and sleep with no blankets so they would shiver all night and burn calories. That makes me so sad, little girls shivering through the night and waking up to a breakfast of ice water and celery. Our society is so fucked up about food and weight.

Meanwhile it also makes me think "god, I need to run more." I haven't been running this week. Allergies, moving soon, yada yada. Anyway I should because we're running a half in a month and a bit. But it burns me up that weight loss is what brings it to mind. So dumb. I have no idea if I need to lose weight anyway. I'm at least 20 or 30 pounds over the top of the healthy weight range for my height, but then I look exactly like my mum who is 40 or 50 pounds lighter and an inch shorter. Big bones or lots of muscle or something. A mirror is no help. Some days I think "dayamn, I am so svelte" and other days "Ugh, I am so spherical" and I think it's more about whether it's sunny out or not than anything. I threw out our scale last year. Sometimes I think of getting a new one, but I'm sure it's a terrible idea. I run and I eat my veggies and I don't smoke, that'll do me well enough I'm sure.

God well at least I know I'll never end up on the cold water diet.

===

Best google ever: Mario Cuomo Schadenfreude

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.