It's a burger carton! It comes with its own storage kennel!

Hello! So um, I've been busy. We're pretty well all settled in, or I am anyway. Boy's room is still total chaos. It's sort of an awkward shape, so he hasn't altogether decided how to arrange the furniture, let alone where all his stuff is to go. But I dumped all his boxes in his room for the housewarming, so now the /rest/ of the apartment feels a lot more homey.

I'm gonna have a new job. My mum's company has been having.. problems.. finding an admin assistant who meets their standards. They're just firing yet another one, and they're super busy right now and don't want to go through this again at the moment, so (pending approval from boss's boss) I'm going to start working half-time here for dad and half-time there for mom. There's windows everywhere in their office and they pay a bit better, so yay! Work this summer will be less boring and more sunny. Their office is also way more hectic and stressed out, though, so we'll see how fun that is. They do love me there, on account of I know how to fix their email and their spreadsheets and they don't. heh.

I played guitar on friday and yesterday for the first time in about a month. Oh! I missed it a lot without realizing. Now that all this moving crap is done I can practice regularly again. Especially since choir is over too. I totally spaced out last week's choir practice, and so I missed singing on sunday, and now choir is over until September. Doh.

Saturday we had our housewarming, which was awesome. It's been quite a while since I've seen so many of my friends all together at once. I can't wait for the wedding - 60 people we love goofing off on the beach. YES.

I found my sweater, the one I started last august, when I moved. I am slowly progressing down the first sleeve. I may even have it done by august, for a world record breaking 1 year completion time. Maybe I'll be inspired to then complete a scarf in a mere 6 months. Or uh, maybe I'll just ditch both projects and start making my wedding dress.

Last night we tried to go to Ikea, but they closed at 6 and not 9 like I thought. Oops. In preparation for our ill-fated trip we went on an industrial park safari to empty the van of plywood and cardboard boxes to prepare to fill it with a new sofa and a dining room table, which was awesome on its own. (A) We got to toss scrap metal around, and (B) I got to see the inside of the ginormous warehouse where boy's brother and boy's dad work. It's huge, and filled with industrial looking crap and lots of stuff painted safety orange. There's a huge cordoned-off pit just kind of sitting in the middle of the floor. It's TOTALLY a video game or the set of a martial arts movie, like what else are all these awesome props for. Okay maybe making spreaders, but pffft.

(Spreaders are the thingies that attach to cranes and pick up metal shipping containers (like on trains and trucks) to move them from boats to shore. They're huge and expensive and complicated. Now you know. Although like me you could have probably safely gone through life never knowing what a spreader was without suffering any consequences.)

I took a personality / job placement type test a while back and "welder/tradesman" was top of the list I got back. (Health sciences was number 4, which peeved me off since I only got reports about the top 3 choices..) I scoffed at it at the time, but I think actually I'd find it very satisfying to work in a warehouse building things all day. Sadly: mental/psychological aptitude 10, physical build 3. Oh well. Pharmacy pays better and won't ruin my back.

So I've been admitted to science at ubc. That's kind of a relief, though I hope I won't need it of course - science is second choice, pharmacy first. But a relief that I was admitted so quickly after they got my supporting docs - so grades are easily above the admittance gpa. And a relief that I've been granted 2nd year standing - so my 1st year science courses, the prereqs that pharmacy also requires, must be acceptable. Good. They've granted me 60 transfer credits, the maximum. I was expecting that, but it was kind of cool to see on paper. Not that it's really useful to me now unless I want to do an anthro minor or something, which I won't have time for. But it feels good to see all those aimless years of classes add up to /something./

I'm back in with the mass-observing cult. None of my fucking jeans fit. Or well, none /did/, two do now after a week. I am finding it much easier than last time, though whether from just experience, the feeling that I look fabulous already, or the fact that it's SO sunny out ALL day long these days I couldn't say. Maybe it's because I have so much fake tupperware. A lot of faky tupperware is involved, anyway. The main drawback is I've substited black tea (can stand without sugar and milk) for my morning coffee (require sugar and milk), but weak black tea is so NOT coffee in the caffeine department. That and I've taken to taking my allergy medicine in the mornings, which makes me drowsy all morning, but then allergy-free all afternoon when I might want to run or walk. So I've been the sleepy special attack in the mornings lately, but frankly this isn't much different than my normal behaviour anyway.

My friend who was in the UAE for like, EVER, is back in town unexpectedly. He just showed up at the housewarming. whoah! I have a beautiful prayer rug on my wall now that he brought back. It's bright, bright yellow with patchwork, hah, it's so perfect for me. Another friend who was in montreal for like EVER also just kind of showed up there. Two or three more out-of-town prodigals are coming back in august. It's reunion summer apparently, and god bless it I say.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.