when you were here before / couldn't look you in the eye

I feel like there's a small child at the controls this week. Mood swings, now 50% off! Yesterday I stayed home from work because I was so cranky and tired. Let me tell you how cranky I was: I was MAD at someone who got a haircut, because I wanted to get a haircut but my hair is already the right length. Uh.. yeah. However that works. Anyway so I slept a lot, which didn't really help, but then last night I had some coffee and played guitar for 2 hours and plotted some furniture rearranging with boy and now I feel a bit better. Although I had 3 hours of sleep, so I could still, you know, improve.

I'm running a half marathon on sunday but right now I'm too exhausted to run. This does not sound cool. I think maybe I will run the first 6 miles with dad and then let him zoom on ahead while I walk/feeb my way through the next 7. I see there is a timed entry from last year for a longer time than it would take me to leisurely walk the whole course, so I guess they won't like close the course on me. Although how embarassing would that be, to be the last person by more than an hour. I think even feeling gimpy I can probably make it in with the next-to-last half-dozen stragglers.

I think my psychic powers are predicting a physical upswing, though, since they just signed me up for "almost my first tri" the following saturday, a non-timed shorter-than-sprint-tri. It makes me raise my eyebrows at them, since honestly that's totally making sure that hundreds of people at m-f-t won't ACTUALLY be at their first tri, but they say because it's not timed it doesn't count. Well, whatever, it sounds fun. I can't stay angry at people who suggest bringing clunky old bikes to help you enjoy the scenery more.

This saturday is our first band (har) practice. I can play no surprises and street spirit now! If quite slowly. Instant karma has indeed made creep the hardest of all, but mainly because it's a lot of bar chords. These /would/ make it the easiest of all except that the action is so high on my new guitar that it HURTS a LOT to play them. Owww. The intonation is off anyway, so possibly I can solve both my problems by loosening the truss rod a bit or fiddling with the bridge or something, which idea terrifies me. I'll have to enlist the help of my guitar pit crew AKA boy's family on saturday.

I am not enjoying working for mum's company. Everyone's nice and all, I just find it a really stressful work environment. Bleahhh. I can't really go back to just my old job full-time either, since I've already been put on 2/3s time. I'm just going to have to suck it up for 2.5 more months. I am being paid well to suck it up, but bleah, it's still not fun. I can't wait until school starts. Sleep in* every day, no working, free time at odd hours.

(* where by "sleep in" we understand "not wake up until 7am or maybe even later!")

I just paid my registration deposit for school. For second choice science stream, that is, but hah: one way or another I am quitting these jobs I don't dig (well, job I don't dig and job I enjoy whose hours degrade my quality of life.) and going back to school.

I have the opening bass line for creep stuck in my head. It's very upbeat and encouraging, particularly as there are no clouds.

google confidential to "corn with leprosy" : dude, get that corn to a doctor.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.