"You cheated!" "Pirate."

I took today off and slept most of the day. I'm not sure if I feel less cranky but less violent for sure.

I just saw pirates of the caribbean! I officially disclaim all my former swooning over aragorn in favour of swooning over johnny depp. swoon! spiritually... ecumenically... grammatically...

They need to make a sequel, and they need to get OSC to write sword-fighting insults for them. And I need to play monkey island 1 & 2 right fucking now. Orlando Bloom TOTALLY looked like guybrush threepwood.

In the credits is listed "Dauntless Barge Captain" and I was all like "YES! THAT IS MY FUTURE CAREER!" until joe pointed out that one of the ships was named Dauntless. Doh! Damn him.

hermia - 2003-07-24 10:37:53
hee! I t would have been much better if they'd just added adjectives to the character jobs like that....
-------------------------------
add a comment
I'll need stilts


You're Fiji!

As calm, relaxed, and removed from life as they come, you're just so

chilled out, it hurts people to see you.  Everyone aspires to be where you are, but

most of them just can't put their stress away.  Little do they know that even you

sometimes have inner turmoil and struggles!  For the most part, though, it's sun and

fun for you, and that's the way you like it.  It's just sort of hard to get things

done with all that partying.
Take

the Country Quiz at the

href="http://bluepyramid.org">Blue Pyramid

hermia - 2003-07-24 10:36:52
But what about your whole worrying thing?
-------------------------------
yam - 2003-07-24 10:52:10
I know, I'm very worried about that omission.
-------------------------------
add a comment
I've had a vision/you know I'm strong and holy/I must do what I am told

Allllmost went across the lake. 7/8 maybe. Left something for next time, anyway. My new safety-orange swim cap was very effective.

I am cranky! This is unexpected. Maybe I'm just not quite ready to let go of 2 years of worrying about this. Or maybe I'm just cranky because I have to take out the garbage and do the dishes again after a year of blissful blissful boy maid service. Har. (did I mention his wrists are both broken? poor fellow. he has big ol' plaster casts which I have drawn silly robots on.) Maybe I can take tomorrow off and eat slurpees until I feel better.

And swim! I need to get this talcum powder out of my hair anyhow. Yay for swimming.

I got in to pharmacy! Holy shit!

hermia - 2003-07-23 10:46:44
oooh, poor boy!! That's so sad!
-------------------------------
Malachai - 2003-07-23 14:17:39
So Pa Lunder didn't lose you halfway across the lake this time?
-------------------------------
add a comment
don't touch the dial, leave it on the station, I'm gonna make another dedication oh yeah

blivety blivety blivet! I feel so weird. I can't concentrate on anything. I've spent two years worrying about it and the worrying is over and holy shit. I have things I need to do like talk to microbi to get them to let me in to a course, get a picture taken of me, la la la but I can barely stand up and walk in a straight line. Oh well, I'll take care of it all tomorrow when hopefully I feel less dizzy.

Apparently there were 550 applicants, for 140 seats, which is half again or double the applicants they've had in the last few years. I'm glad I didn't know THAT before, that would have bumped my anxiety up another few notches.

Holy CRAP! Oh god. I'm in! In 6 weeks I am starting school. I will be taking pharmacy courses!

This has me so turned around! I can picture feet growing out of my head and me walking around upside down. I could hang my purse and my bag from my legs, but I'd probably have to grab my breasts all the time to keep from scraping my arms on the sidewalk. Maybe I'll try walking normally just for kicks after all.

amanda - 2003-07-22 14:08:33
That many applicants and they chose YOU- because they could see what a wonderful Yam you are! Oh, and I always walk around holding my breasts. You mean that's wierd?
-------------------------------
persephone - 2003-07-22 14:41:06
congratulations!!! you earned the heck out of it.
-------------------------------
add a comment
YES!

I GOT IN!

hermia - 2003-07-22 10:37:05
LA LA LA LA !!!! I just saw your post at Digs and can't stop grnning! Congrats, babe. We knew you'd get it, but I'm glad they all realized how brilliant you are too!!!!!
-------------------------------
Jeanne - 2003-07-22 11:23:59
Man, you ROCK! I am so happy for you!
-------------------------------
emmalola - 2003-07-22 12:29:59
yam is the best! hooray! whoopeee! lalalalala! yay! yam! yay! yam!
-------------------------------
catnipqueen - 2003-07-22 12:46:17
I read your post and gave a loud WHOOP! I scared my hungover roommate and skittish cat on your behalf. :) Congrats!
-------------------------------
gretch - 2003-07-22 13:23:10
Stupid counting the days! You were so fabulous they let you in EARLY!!! COngratulations!. YamRoX! :)
-------------------------------
amanda - 2003-07-22 14:06:34
Bwahahahaha! I read it on digs but wanted to see what you had to say about it here. We toldja so, we toldja so, nah nah nah (*dancing around wildly*). Conratulations!!!!! You are a stud! Told you pirates don't need luck.
-------------------------------
breana - 2003-07-22 15:26:42
I'm gonna go pop a wheelie on the tractor in honor of your acceptance into the "farmacy" program! Yeehaw!
-------------------------------
add a comment
there's a tavern in the town, in the town

whee! I just swam almost across a lake! 3/4s of the way. That's like 3 or 4 times as long as the longest I've done in the pool, so uh, cool.

poor Boy is so gimped today. we went to visit his family, where someone else got to spoonfeed him for a while. tomorrow morning he is going to visit emerg to get some x-rays. I will make him some sammiches to sustain him while I'm work...

add a comment
thriller.. thriller.. la la la are there any other words to that song, actually?

Boy just went flying over his handlebars! He called me from (busy intersection) confusedly asking if I could bring a wet cloth. I went and played first aid and we went to radio shack and bled on things. Okay no first we went to get some better bandages and then did not bleed on radio shack at all. I had to walk his huge bike home because his wrists are gimped. Now he's typing away with big bags of frozen corn draped strategically on his gimpy body, calling for help occasionally when the cat starts trying to eat his electronics bench because the cat is too heavy for him to pick up. Poor boy! But also kind of funny to watch.

----

7 days! Only they won't actually announce anything next saturday of course. Maybe I'll know on wednesday, maybe I won't know until like, friday after next, it's a total mystery. Tra la.

----

I have furniture rearranging disease again. My room is very spacious right now, while the living room is very cluttered. We didn't quite finish with the living room and now that joe's gibbled his hands I think it'll stay cluttered for another week or two. Doh!

It's so hot today. Do I eat ice cream, or go swimming? I think I'll eat ice cream and then go swimming.

add a comment
I will name him Levi in your honour

Ow goddamnit! I just had a major breana moment as I found a stinging insect in my pants. A giant black wasp had worked itself up my pants almost to my thigh before I noticed it. Then I could feel it buzzing around and preparing to sting as I frantically rolled up my pant leg. I had almost gotten to it when it stung and flew out. Ow! Fuck you!

This was in the middle of home depot. I had an involuntary girly scream and fell over clutching my leg. Everyone around me completely ignored me except one man who giggled and looked away. Err..? Then boy walked up looking confused and pushed me around in the orange shopping cart for awhile. We pretended I was on special. I blame the venom working its way to my brain.

----

The endowment lands are awesome! They are nice and cold even in july.

----

Ow!

Malachai - 2003-07-19 16:11:50
What were you doing at the home Despot, and why was a wasp climbing up your pant leg? ..... was it because you're sweet?
-------------------------------
breana - 2003-07-21 13:05:09
Death to stinging insects who nest in our pants!!!
-------------------------------
breana - 2003-07-21 13:06:45
It must have been a rare and dangerous trouser-wasp. Good thing you have natural trouser-wasp antibodies in your blood. Your name starts with Br, and all kids who have names that start with Br are naturally immune to all insects in the family Pantsidae.
-------------------------------
add a comment
sometimes my job is pretty awesome

my boss is rushing to work to give me gummibears before I leave. ha!

meanwhile I have a kindersurprise. my toy is an oyster on wheels. as it rolls along it pops a disturbing purple head out and sticks out its tongue. it only goes backwards, like actual oysters. god bless europe! there's also a secret code for the kinder website, good for a 20 minute magical adventure. how odd! I'm saving it for later, since I bet magical means "would be better with a sound card."

breana - 2003-07-18 14:23:33
Oh GAH I miss kindersuprises! There's no way in Hades I'm gonna get one down here. In Detroit, you could cross the bridge and get all kinds of good European candies and stuff. Not that Windsor is a cultural mecca, but still, they love the queen, and they have real Cadbury chocolates and Kindereggs. I'm sad.
-------------------------------
hermia - 2003-07-18 14:43:28
I have to say I'm disapointed not to have experienced a kindersurprise. we'll have to have another package exchange!
-------------------------------
add a comment
la la la

Holy shit, I'm getting married in less than a month. Maybe I should uh.. prepare for that. It's so nice out and I'm so broke out that I just want to sleep in the sun and swim for free.

8 more days! I hope they mean actual days and not business days.

Why does this crappy radio station play so much Men Without Hats? They are far too awesome for the station that also plays the greatest hits of celine dion and blackbird at least once an hour.

add a comment
Ooh, smoking cessation.

My conscious mind is terribly fretful about it, but my pocketbook appears certain I'm getting in, to judge by how many pharmacy books I keep buying. Yesterday I spent $300 while waiting around at UBC for a few hours in order to save $3 on swimming. Ha ha doh. Well, they are textbooks I'll need. If I get in. I got the big honking CPS, and a guide to patient self-care, and a dayplanner. Actually I have no idea if I'll need the guide to patient self-care, but it was too interesting. It's full of flow-charts! Joe patiently put up with several hours of me sharing such "interesting" tidbits as "Ohhh! If you're coughing up phlegm you shouldn't take an anti-tussive syrup!" Theoretically all this text buying will mean I have a less heavy backpack on the day I buy all the required books when the list comes out, but more likely it just means that on that day I'll be tempted to buy all the optional texts since I have room in my bag.

9 more days.

Stackwatch Bosy Reporter - 2003-07-17 18:24:45
re: peecat: jesus on toast, girl. if they don't take U in to pharm, kick they a$$es and demand to see if there were any hanging chads.
-------------------------------
add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.