my loneliness is killing me I must confess I still believe (hahaha, what a WRONG song to have stuck in my head)

Oh, what a bitchin' party! Perfect, room temperature sunny weather. All my friends! My cousins! My aunts & uncles! Joe's relatives! Joe's friends! Family friends! SOs of friends! People I've never met with cute, cute grandchildren tagging along! Homemade jelly, homemade blackforest cake, a guest book & crayons, a game of bocce, playing toss next to the ocean. I spent 4 hours wandering around chatting and it felt like 4 minutes oh it was awesome. Ex-boyfriend in a wrestling mask and boxing gloves playing britney spears and boney m on the accordion. Gave my cousins temporary hand-drawn robot tattoos. Sent some banana cream pie home to chemo-grandpa. Got lipstick, sand, grass, dirt, grease, icing, salad dressing, and mud on my dress, which I think means we did it right. My uncle bruce made the worst pun ever: (looking at blackforest cake) "Kirsches! Someone's spiked the cake!" Har har har. Our families had matching drifter uncles who amazingly both showed up: my uncle the treeplanter who used to live on a houseboat, and his uncle who once hitchhiked around the world while fasting. Hrm!

We came home and it was like a present fairy barfed in our living room. We have so many knives now, it's awesome. I have "cocktail squids", something I never knew existed but now understand are necessary. A zillion more wonderful things - so many generous people! Our guestbook is full of love. The little girls who spent the whole time running around looking cute with the helium balloons drew pictures of balloons in the book. My sister drew a monkey.

At sunset we went to a more secluded beach to blow shit up. We had one fireball about 6 feet across, so I'd call it worthwhile. We may yet regret bringing father-in-law along: he now has mad schemes for (A) automating it (B) making the fireballs larger (C) god knows what, but stand back.

I'm MARRIED! I have a husband! I am Mrs. L. Whoah. Our friends who are married wrote "welcome to the club" in their card. Hee. Yeah.

God what an amazing day. Happy!!!

persephone - 2003-08-17 04:13:06
oh good i was hoping there would be details, and your "best part" made me a little teary! i'm glad it was so perfect. i hope it's okay if i pass on a jewish blessing: "may Gd rejoice over you as a bridegroom rejoices over his bride." fireballs and all. ;)
-------------------------------
gretchen - 2003-08-17 14:31:46
congratulations, congratulations, congratulations!!!!
-------------------------------
jeanne - 2003-08-17 17:34:23
Oh my god, that sounds AWESOME! Best wedding reception story ever. Congrats congrats! And more monkeys. :)
-------------------------------
catnipqueen - 2003-08-17 19:53:21
congrats sweets!
-------------------------------
emmalola - 2003-08-17 21:37:02
YAYAYAYAY!
-------------------------------
i-roboctopus - 2003-08-18 10:29:27
Hooray! Yes indeedy, welcome to the club!
-------------------------------
kabes - 2003-08-18 10:57:07
congrats to you!!!
-------------------------------
hermia - 2003-08-18 11:15:42
*sniff* yay! I'm so relieved it all went well. I'm sorry to be so late with the congrats...
-------------------------------
add a comment
poor wandering one/if such poor love as mine

Well suh I'm good'n'married now! One hour afterwards I could be seen strolling down the halls of the building, whistling the bubble bobble theme song and holding a staple gun. What must the neighbours think? I have no idea.

Best part: boy smiling as he finished his vows.
Second best part:
(relatives are trying to make space on the couch.)
boy's dad: "It's okay, I don't bite."
my aunt: "I do!"

Heh.

breana - 2003-08-16 18:29:45
You can't see it, but I'm throwing rice in your general direction. :p Congratulations!!
-------------------------------
yam - 2003-08-17 03:51:13
there was no rice, but someone threw mini-marshmallows. and a water balloon.
-------------------------------
add a comment
one day I'm going to grow wings a chemical reaction

I swam all the way across the lake! Awesome.

I am getting married in 12 hours. Well now!

Heather aka luckiestars7 - 2003-08-16 03:56:57
Everything will be wonderful for your wedding. I'm glad that you're finally able to relax. Oh yeah because most likely I totally forgot earlier, congrats!
-------------------------------
add a comment
she picks 'em up in the pick 'em up truck, she picks them up to try her luck

3 girly drinks and a frozen dvd player later I am in a great mood. Alcohol 1, Puritanism 0. Now to bed and then sleep in. Then clean up for a while, lunch with mom + mom-in-law, then go for another swim. Then sleep and then get married. Notice lack of "holy crap", see clause (a) about finally being relaxed.

Swimming is so great. We did some butterfly today! I heart it! Probably because it relies more on brute strength than coordination, and for all that I'm a wee wussy girl, I have much more brute strength than coordination. Must start lifting weights again.

Today was wedding gifts falling from the heavens day. First unexpected assload of cash from uncle. Then beautiful flowers from office. Then wonderful music stand from dad. (It folds out to hold four pages! It's exactly what I needed but didn't know existed.) Then crazy cedar planter from f-i-l. Then brilliant berry bowl (it drains them so you don't have blueberry soup!) from my friend made by her boyfriend's mom. Then a bunch of knives in a secret agent briefcase (bwahaha!) from the friend who is determined to have us detained at an airport. My mom reports that the suggestion of "oh, give money to the food bank" has been unpopular. Heh, apparently so. What generous people we are surrounded with! It's kind of overwhelming.

Happy. Yay girly drinks. Time for an untroubled sleep.

add a comment
THIS BOAT IS TOTALLY SINKING THIS PLANE IS TOTALLY CRASHING

So now I've been told they can't add the stupid biology course until I drop something else because I've exceeded the maximum. Well DUH I've exceeded the maximum, but they're all required courses, you dips. ARGGHHH. Meanwhile the pharmacy advisor is away until monday. Tra la la.

I am going insane. I am the crankiest bitch ever this week and I want it to fucking stop! I am tired of doing 8 hours of work every day this week while being paid for 5 (damnit NOW that I've taken a cut in hours the workload magically appears arrrrr), I am tired of worrying about relatives (latest wrinkle: uncle-not-at-the-ceremony gave us like a jillion dollars. in theoretical land this does not change a thing, in reality land I am going to fret about it even more.), I am tired of worrying about the goddamn furniture, I am tired of trying to juggle all my fucking to-do lists, I am tired of boy not understanding why I'm stressed out about the wedding, I am tired of having dumb fights with him because he keeps interpreting things I say as sarcasm/attacks/whatever when it's not, it's just that apparently my stressed-out voice sounds like goddamn david spade, I am tired of worrying over the scavenger hunt, I am tired of all this pharmacy hoohaw, I am

Okay I'm just plain tired, that's what. HJKFGSKDJKSGJFKGJDKGJDFGJGFSDJK oh it'll all be over soon. After work I'm going to take a nap. And then I'm going swimming. And if I'm still so freaking worked up after swimming, I'm going to drink all the girly liquor in my fridge and rent pirates of penzance or something.

Zarah - 2003-08-14 12:34:46
If you need someone to drink girl liquer with tonight, lemme know and I'll raid the liquer store on the way over.
-------------------------------
breana - 2003-08-14 16:18:48
Drinking while watching pirates could my mighty dangerous matey!! Of course, I've always found oprea much more enjoyable when I'm drunk, but I've got no class, so it's to be expected.
-------------------------------
emmalola - 2003-08-14 17:33:49
arrr.
-------------------------------
catnipqueen - 2003-08-14 22:11:21
Matey, it will be alright soon.
-------------------------------
add a comment
blue sky happiness blue sky happiness

I think I like swimming so much because I am distracted from the physical effort by the mental effort of trying to do it correctly. I am so uncoordinated that it will take years and years before I can do basic strokes well without having to think really hard about it. Yay!

Never mind how casual this stupid wedding is, I am getting more and more frazzled every day. By friday I'm going to be a fucking basket case. Fortunately nearly everything is arranged so the best freakout I can manage is "Omigod what if I forget to buy the mini-marshmallows," which yes, I am able to identify as "completely ridiculous."

Well, I had some better freakouts yesterday. "Ack, we have to invite 12 extra people to the ceremony to soothe the feelings of aunts and uncles I haven't seen in years!" Only, no we don't. "Ack, we should have speeches and shit at the reception so people feel like they've been to a wedding." Only, where the fuck did that thought come from? That is always the most boring part! No, no, no, we are going to play croquet and eat pie and spill sunscreen on our dress and get water balloons thrown at us by mischievious cousins. It will be awesome. Oh man I am so looking forward to my parents' crazy friends meeting my crazy new in-laws meeting my mad extrovert relatives meeting tabnet. Well, actually I bet tabnet will be shy, but there will be like 30 tabbers there which may be critical mass to turn in to a rowdy crowd. (I at least can't wait to hear chan bitch about the food. Heh.) I desire a rowdy wedding that will inspire gossip for years. Moderation is for monks.

What is this, like, wedding-induced bipolar disorder? Ha ha ha.

So joe gets his new goretex cast today! YAY! He'll be able to take a shower without suiting up like the damn michelin man first! Hah, I should designate the new casts as the guest book. But that would be mean. I have a book instead.

Band practice tonight! Despite my good intentions I have not practiced at all, but I'll try to this afternoon now as I have my electric back.

add a comment
I see now you think you are joan of arc

And HAH! The weather network has changed their sodden tune. 30% POP aaaaaand dropping. Hold that thought guys. Until saturday.

Okay sleepytime now.

amanda - 2003-08-12 05:11:00
this has nothing to do with anything, but I thought you would like this. http://www.azcentral.com/home/crafty/1005craftyideas05.html Yay!!
-------------------------------
add a comment
I'm not you can't assume I am like you I'm not you can't assume

Wedding dress finally fucking finished! 5 hours later. Ugh, you finicky finicky patchwork. Well anyway, finished finished finished. Scavenger hunt lists finished too. This weekend is gonna be so busy and happy and it's so close. 5 days! 4 days? Whatever, SOON.

hermia - 2003-08-12 10:26:29
Do you PROMISE to post photos of this entire event??
-------------------------------
add a comment
you taste like a peach and I'm sick of especially you/especially you!

Getting married in 5 days. Gadzooks!

Okay, does anyone other than uncle scrooge ever say Gadzooks! other than for Mad Libs? Can't decide if it should be revived or buried.

I have one million wedding errands to run. I have basically not thought about the wedding at all other than catering (which my mom & dad have taken care of entirely) and inviting people until now, and now I've suddenly realized "Wait a minute.. that's THIS YEAR! month. week. whatever." Uh, yeah?

Well anyway, it'll be awesome. And SUNNY. The weather network has changed from saying 100% chance of rain to 80%. It has 5 more days to repent of its foul prediction or I'll beat it up. Oh well, if it rains we'll all just go swimming at the convenient beach and enjoy our bbq food all the more. But I might wish I'd gone for umbrella favours, heh.

amanda - 2003-08-12 05:12:38
Gadzooks is actually a department store here. Oh, and what is poutine? If it involves cheese curds, I know I'll heart it.
-------------------------------
add a comment
I just want to know all over the world

So the weather report is predicting rain rain rain for friday, saturday, sunday. Fuck you! Please be wrong wrong wrong. I desire a sunny wedding, dry enough weather for tea candling, and a sunny anniversary meet.

Time to get dorky tents from zellers I guess.

add a comment
do you want to go for walk walk walk/we could go to another town town

Oh what a long, long happy day. Left my house early in the morning to go pick berries. The excellent berry patch favoured by boy's dad had been bulldozed over, but the berries sticking out of the rubble were still plentiful enough to fill our 5 gallon tub. It must have been amazing before getting bulldozed. We also stopped on the side of the road to pick more berries from an even more heavily laden bush, but it was on like a 50 degree angle so our ankles didn't last long there.

No band practice because The Mad Percussionist (okay, The Mellow Percussionist) busted a drum. I lay around and made a soupy blackberry pie that was very delicious. Boy's parents just came back from quebec and brought cheese curds in their suitcase, so for dinner we had poutine. And steak because someone forgot to freeze it. And salad, and corn, and french bread, and then Inspector Exposition showed up with leftovers from the wedding she was shanghaied in to helping with: a zillion kinds of cheese, watermelon, greek salad. Oh god, I ate so much good food. And then had two servings of pie/soup and ice cream. Ohh.

Then we went to see Perpetual Dream Theory for their first show after a hiatus and last show before a hiatus. Oh, miss lead singer is 7 months pregnant and so beautiful. They sang some songs I hadn't heard before and really liked. We met up with the fireworks people there (including The Chatboarder Man From Toronto Who's Been Away For Years!) and I had had a lot of coffee by this time and going to a cafe at midnight sounded great. After waiting for the bus for quite a while we managed to get there and then people played two interminable card games until 4 in the morning. Everyone was either being driven mad by cards or sleeping draped over mad card players.

4:30 we got a ride home. The cats seemed very solicitous and I realized it was because it was almost 5am, when I normally feed them. When I get up. Heh. Fed them and went to bed. I woke up this morning (barely) feeling like swimming a mile, playing my guitar, and shakin' hands with everyone I meet - I think that means I had a pretty awesome day.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.