thank you that is all

add a comment
in an interstellar burst i am back to save the universityyyy

Thursdays seem to make me grumpy. I storm around all day, collapse in an almost crying nap, and wake up civil. I'm glad I'm not in choir this semester, since adding "stay up late, standing up for several hours" to the mix would probably make me in to uh.. a minotaur! Anyway. This morning I am very happy, absurdly happy really considering the entire basis of my happiness is a slight change in next term's schedule. They resolved the conflicts and when the dust settles on most days I have a /two-hour/ lunch, an unspeakable luxury! I will meditate on this constantly while I eat my sammiches in class this term, I predict.

Ho ho ho, to school I go.

ps: I have a big crush on Ovid, the expensive journal-searching software my uni's library has. Swoon! I know it won't love me back, since it's uh.. a search tool. But ooh, if that's the case it should stop delivering me all these romantic uh.. powerful hand-indexed search options. Mrowr.

brabra - 2003-09-19 20:31:25
I am in love with Ingenta, which delivers me the tables of contents of all the most delicious anthropomology journals, sometimes with links to fulltext! And it does it without me even asking.
-------------------------------
add a comment
do you want to go for a walk, walk walk

Today I was a test subject! They wired me up to some electrodes and demonstrated how much my reflexes suck. I theorize that my morning classes act as a depressant, and seriously biology feels like sedation would be an improvement. Have I told you about biology teacher's 8-verse parody of sk8tr boi all about biology? It may sound funny to you, but in reality it was just painful to watch. Sigh! Anyway. The instructor had to hit my leg like 20 times before getting a useful response. It reminded me of gym class in high school when we were taking each other's pulses - my partner concluded I was a vampire with no pulse.

I get to be the test subject, volunteer, example, and spokesperson a lot lately. I don't think of myself as particularly forward, but in the context of pharmacy students I'm apparently a keener impressario. It's kind of neat, although I have this vague suspicion at the back of my mind that I'm making a fool of myself. But maybe that's all being assertive is, having a certain willingness to look like an idiot. Anyway, apparently it's how I /am/, so if I'm a fool, I'm a fool.

The biomed library at school is flooded today. I find this so hilarious. Fortunately no books or computers were hurt. But hee hee, the library!

I have officially started counting down to the end of the semester. Which is in 11.5 more weeks, if you were wondering. I am loving on my pharmacy courses, but man, NEXT semester I will still have pharmacy courses but I WON'T have evil biology or treadmill stats, and I will have a lunchbreak. So I spend those two hours closest to noon where I have both those classes and no break pondering hungrily the weeks until it's all over.

Ahh, statistics. Something the instructor said today indicates that he knows that the entire class has taken integral calculus and probably done well in it. This has not changed the snail's pace, but I guess there's not much he can do, since certainly the other sections are NOT full of people with a math background. I think maybe pharmacy should develop a custom stats course. Although I just read that this is the first year where ANY stats has been required (WHAT?! but.. PHARMACY!), so maybe this is still a good first step for the faculty. Oh well.

Physiology is so cool, except for the lost feeling I get when I read about the brain. Not lost in the material, just.. I read about how the brain works and it explains just enough so that I become aware of how I have no idea how thinking, awareness, consciousness happens. And that no one else really understands it either. And I feel.. lost. It's the same feeling as when you wonder "why does anything exist? at all?" The feeling that (a) there is no possible answer to comfort you (although this is certainly debatable in the case of neurology), and (b) that if you could figure out the answer, you might cease to exist or something. Disconcerting, you know. I guess that's cool too, so I shouldn't say "except", but it's cool and upsetting.

persephone - 2003-09-17 23:29:22
oh, but that was my favorite part of cognitive psych! consciousness: no one knows what it is. or why we have it. also, there is no existing theory to explain how you hear a chord; they can only explain one note at a time. isn't that crazy?? i love the brain.
-------------------------------
add a comment
they must mean humour.

Higgs Boson
Higgs Boson -- You are crazy and wacky and nobody
really understands you. Theoretically your
humor gives the universe mass and existence,
but the explanation as to how this all works is
still in the works.



What kind of subatomic particle are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

add a comment
something something something ring of fire

Pharm lab was phun. It was actually a nice relaxing way to end the week instead of an exercise in sleepiness, although perhaps I'll change my mind one day when I'm half-awake and being marked on attention to detail. There's another woman in my group who can't swallow pills! !!! !! Awesome. We were trading tips on chewable vitamins.

I have a new backpack. It is large enough to contain my large textbooks and my lab manuals. I am very happy, since now I can carry just one bag to school instead of my normal backpack PLUS a canvas bag PLUS my lunch bag. My back will probably be very sad soon, though, since it is now easy for me to carry heavy extra textbooks to read on the bus.

I had my first swimming lesson in my new set today. Boo, saturdays are so crowded and noisy. I could barely hear the instructor, and my class is two classes combined in one so it's huge. I mean, it's still okay, I got some good swimming tips, but it's not as good as the last round. In the spring I'll have to try for some weekday evening lessons.

Ahh, the mystical spring. I will have lunch breaks and "only" 27 hours of class a week, which is rapidly becoming a fabulous ecstacy-tastic utopia in my mind. Won't I be disappointed when it turns out to be cold, rainy, and grey! Oh well, denial is so great.

My mr. toaster purse is here, hurrah! And the stuffed-animal-purse for Cutest Toddler. It has a pink elephant head on it, I think she'll like it.

mrputter - 2003-09-14 17:17:49
Avast, all ye scurvy land-lubbers! Mark ye well yer calendars SEPTEMBER 19th, for thar Second International Talk Like a Pirate Day! Yarrrr!!
-------------------------------
add a comment
erev shel shoshanim

Ahh, the cutest toddler in the world is still very, very cute. Today her friend the other cutest toddler in the world was there too. We went on the swings for about an hour straight, and then played make block towers and destroy them. I have discovered how to avoid worrying about school: arrange to have two toddlers tackle you with pillows. Yay!

My room is such a shambles. I need a proper studying area but there's not really any room. Maybe I should annex the living room, but there's not much room there either. Hmm.

My Mr. Hedgehog purse saved the day today. I forgot my student card at home and almost had to fork out for an adult admission to the pool, but then the manager recognized my purse and let me in for free after fawning over it some more. I win!

I just noticed that next term in the lab one of the activities is a taste test of common children's medicine so we can tell people what it tastes like. Hah, awesome! I can already fill most of the sheet in, actually, except for "suggested age range" because the lab manual is totally yanking my chain if it expects me to put in 2-6yrs for something I routinely keep in my medicine cabinet. Well okay, I guess infant motrin isn't actually designed for me. Here's my big chance to tell a generation of pharmacists how totally nasty fake-watermelon flavour is. I totally can't wait for the pediatrics course in third or fourth year, because let me tell you, as soon as I'm licensed I am never taking a drug that isn't strawberry flavoured again.

Hee, I do have less self-centred reasons for wanting to be a pharmacist too. If you were wondering.

breana - 2003-09-12 10:56:16
I wanna taste test cold medicine too! That sounds like an awesome lab! In my lab, we definitely don't eat anything, cuz no matter how good that dirt looks, it's not gonna taste very pleasant.
-------------------------------
add a comment
photosynthesis is for pansies. har!

I had my first physiology lab today (well, first meeting, we didn't go in the lab at all) and it turns out it's only every 2 or 3 weeks. Yay! You are still in the doghouse, schedule fairies, but this may bump up your eligibility for parole.

I must register with the college soon as a student and I have no idea what name I should use. I am A at school and L well.. legally I'm both, but I'm meaning to switch to L next year, as far as school goes. Maybe I will register as L and let my faculty know informally that if they see L, it's me, and that eventually it will be officially changed on their systems. Tra la. Yesterday I was TOTALLY writing Mrs. Obb L___ on my trapper-keeper. Not only is this about 15 years too late for 3rd grade, but it seems especially silly since I am already married to him. At this rate next week I'll be putting notes on his desk saying "Do you like me? Circle one: yes no"

Okay maybe not.

I feel way less wasted today, and tomorrow is my short day where I get to visit Cutest Toddler Ever. Yay! I will totally own this semester. Term. Whatever it is at this freaking university.

I am starting to meet more people in my year. Today I got lost with two guys looking for the phys lab (we had all spaced out the email about the change in room, as it turned out. doh.) and ended up having coffee with them at the hospital. It was nice to chat with people about pharmacy - I feel like boy is kind of just patiently nodding and smiling when I talk to him about it. Although that's totally how I must come off when I listen to him talk about work, eh, so I'm not offended or anything. I'm looking forward to lab just to learn a bunch more names & faces... Even if it has the same courseload (god, I hope not), I bet next year will seem so much easier just because I'll know everyone. Communal bitching is just so great.

Except in as much as it brings up the mental image of the EVIL HIPPIE, of course.

malachai - 2003-09-11 01:16:17
if you do leave notes on his desk, be sure to pre-circle his answer.
-------------------------------
gretchen - 2003-09-11 06:36:50
Third grade, ha! My 7/8s are STILL DOING THAT. Only Post-It's have been invented since I was that age, so it's lesws folding, more sticking.
-------------------------------
hermia - 2003-09-11 09:49:09
Yeah, I've been wondering if there was any difference in being married versus...not. Mrs. Boy!
-------------------------------
add a comment
through the window/the doctors goes/in the form of a cat/is he a foe?

Well no turning back now that pharmacy courses have started - they are fun! I have been appointed a "quality control person" in one of them. Apparently this instructor keeps getting negative comments at the end of the year but not before, because people are too shy to talk to him, so this year the first four people fool enough to raise their hands got appointed intermediaries. Disgruntled students talk to me, I talk to him without naming names. It sounds smart of him, anyway, and now I have an excuse to indulge my critical ways. Heh, item one: your joke about how your daughter is dumb fell flat and everyone cringed.

So far things are okay. I am so sleepy today, though, I think I'm coming down with something. Otherwise I've been able to keep up pretty well. I'm a bit behind on my chemistry problems, but I think I'll start just doing those in class. We have a fabulous chem textbook, and the instructor takes that fabulous writing, changes the order, leaves out important points, and delivers it in a monotone. Nice! So there's one class that'll be a little self-directed-learning experience.. And I'm behind on reading my horrible anatomy textbook, but the book is so vastly more complicated (or obfuscated) than what's covered in class that I think it doesn't really matter.

I have a big tutorial resentment complex and I'm becoming really whiny about it. I'm kind of paranoid that everyone new I meet thinks I'm just a big complainer - I hear negative comments fly out of my mouth but am unable to stop them. Well, not that often, and probably everyone is actually thinking "ugh, my schedule SUCKS! oh someone is talking, damn, what is her name again?" But anyway, tutorials. They're too small to slack in and painfully useless. My biology tutorial is particular annoying; the TA assumes everyone is (a) fresh out of highschool and (b) probably barely graduated. Although hearing my friend the librarianator talk about the dumb bio students that invade her library, possibly this is mostly true. But an hour of condescending "help" is agonizing. My stats tutorial is better - the TA is insanely cheerful and never, ever stops smiling. The material is even more basic but somehow "cheerful" makes the time pass MUCH faster than "open scorn."

I am not sick of sandwiches yet and I have mostly figured out what classes I can get away with eating lunch in. I even went for a swim today. This will allll be okay.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.