hallelujah I'm a bum. hallelujah bum again.

Okay, I'm going back to a normal-style diary, because the livejournal style was making me crazy. And I'm not killing time at work by updating 4 times a day anymore, alas.

I have spent something like 10-16 hours a day sleeping for the last four days. Ohhh I feel like a zombie, it's awful! I think I have physiology-induced narcolepsy. I think about studying my neglected phyl. notes, and suddenly napping seems like a great idea. Also I just finished reading Swiss Family Robinson, so I have all kinds of archaic turns of phrase on the tip of my tongue, waiting to pounce confusingly. (A capital plan! I believe I have been providentially led to it! How alarming, the mother has stumbled upon the bones of an antediluvian monster!) So overall the effect is very rip van winkle: fast asleep, mumbling like it's 1799.

Hmm. I wonder if I need to repair my template now.

On saturday we went to eat large quantities of pastry. I felt so disgusting afterwards that I've temporarily sworn off sweets. Since then I've lost 5 pounds. Ack! Did I really eat that much candy? I'm guessing it's just the barometric pressure or something, but how alarming. An antediluvian monster. Today I passed up a slice of pecan pie and watched serenely while an entire fruit pie was tossed out. I feel like a sugar-hating alien has taken control of my body, because normally it's more like "Mmm, I'll have some rock sugar for breakfast!"

Daylight savings time is evil. Although intellectually I appreciate that right now is the "real" time and all those late nights in summer are the daylight time, I still hate it. We should just be on DST all the time, man. I don't care if it's light in the morning, I'm not awake anyway, even if I am apparently taking notes in class.

Tomorrow I am ordering a bright yellow pharmacy hoodie. It will match my internet diary! Ten dork points for me! It would be 10,000 dork points if I was getting it specifically to match, but I will claim this is not so.

So random! Did I mention I finished the forever-sweater? Now I am almost finished the not-forever-at-all-scarf for my sister. My forever-afghan is still taking forever, though. I am considering just ending it now and pretending I meant to make it a baby and/or lap blanket all along. Maybe I'll sew it in to a pocket and call it a baby-cosy. I love cozies. I made a pancake-cosy once, admittedly by accident. Tonight one million* people came to my stitch'n'bitch, which was great. Knitting... frenzy...

* 10.

Tomorrow I am going to lab to be stabbed with needles and bleed all over everyone for marks. Sweet! (Okay well, be pricked with a lancet and perform idiot-simple blood typing and cell-counting tasks. I'm so melodramatic.) Time to pack bacon in my lunch, so I don't faint. Or anyway that's my excuse.

Tra la!

hermia - 2003-11-12 10:10:31
hee! a delightfully old-school yam entry, hurrah! i love the swiss family robinson. I last reread that book on the Gutenberg Project, back when I was temping and reading books online to keep from going mad. Instead I gave myself awful headaches! I also read the entire OZ series, it was great fun. I spent my days reading 100-year-old children's fantasy books, making fun of investment banker sand answering phones. la!
-------------------------------
mrputter - 2003-11-12 19:26:00
Ok, I'm curious.

What's the difference between a "normal"-style DL entry and a "LiveJournal"-style DL entry? 'Cause I can't tell the difference, really.

(Of course, as soon as you point it out, I know I'll curse at myself for having missed the obvious...)

-------------------------------
add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.