and in the end, the blood you take, is equal to the mess you make la la la

Well, I think I have cured myself of being nervous about lancets. I like to about fainted when I saw the lab instructor doing the demonstration - I turned red, started sweating profusely, and had to sit down and drink cold water until I felt less woozy. But 30 minutes later I was stabbing myself in the finger repeatedly, glaring at my wounds and yelling at them to bleed more. Now I have 8 little holes in two of my fingers and after all that we didn't even use my data for the report, since I bled too slow to suck up before coagulating, in the non-heparinized tube anyway. Oh well. I think it was watching me bleeding realllllly slowly that frustrated my squeamish team-mates in to joining in the fun and bleeding all over the place too, to a more fruitful end than I.

I'm glad I'm not diabetic. On top of everything else they must have sore fingers all the time.

I am a little anaemic, though! My haematocrit was the sad and loneliest one in the class, although one suspects there's some selection bias in that the frailest types were also the ones who didn't draw any blood. Time for mama chicken liver's anaemia cure.

Two weeks and two days left of classes, an' about the same of exams. I need a break. I am so demoralized thinking about all the physiology and chemistry I need to learn in that time, especially chemistry, the only course there is a chance I'll fail. Heck, I'm demoralized about the prospect of tonight's relatively light task of writing up a few pages of visit reports. I'm just ready to goddamn hibernate. Oh well, suck it up.

I finished my scarf in biology today. It helped distract me from the class-long discussion about the discussion we had last class about a question on the 4 question quiz that took 50 minutes. So! Useless! Only 7 more biology lectures, and 2 tutorials. And a 3 page research paper, of course. This idiot course is requiring a time investment all out of proportion with its educational benefit to me. Fuck you, but oh well, over soon. I wish I could spend all day in the pharm practice lab. I love practice lab. Maybe half there and half in interesting lecture courses sopping up drug knowledge. Well, I guess that'll be more or less the next 3 years of classes. Hey, good.

pert plus = pr�t plus (more ready!) on the french side. maybe they thought quebec hair was perky enough as it is? if pharmacy falls though, I'll go work as a bad translator somewhere, and write nonsensical literal translations on cereal boxes /on purpose/.

add a comment

previous page | next page | archive | leave me a note

moving sale, one day only! - 2003-11-24
start spreading the news! ASA is used as a platelet inhibitor and is in the reference drug program! - 2003-11-20
I've got a disease, I'm addicted to cheese - 2003-11-20
when I think of the time gone by - 2003-11-16
the pancakes of blushful Hippocrene had not been entirely filling - 2003-11-14
digsnext | digsprev | digslist | digshome
get yer own diary! you know you dig it.